MAKO Debut Album 'Hourglass' to Release 12/9

MAKO Debut Album 'Hourglass' to Release 12/9

To hear MAKO now is to witness them at a creative crossroads, a trip four years in the making for producer/songwriter/vocalist Alex Seaver and producer Logan Light. Following their rapid rise, MAKO now tackle a new sonic challenge via their debut album Hourglass set for release December 9 via Ultra Music. Today, the album pre-order launches with the release of a new song "Wish You Back" and announcement of MAKO's first-ever full band live shows.

Having made its premiere today (11/3) via Proximity, "Wish You Back" features Kwesi on vocals (something unique for the duo as Alex Seaver is MAKO's usual vocalist) and offers a touching, self-reflective tale of love lost built over a cinematic arch, while Dutch house duo The Him brings a bouncy flavor to the track with club-friendly charm and serves as an instant grat for the album. Kwesi--a songwriter signed to Scooter Braun's Sheba Publishing-also co-wrote "Wish You Back" with MAKO.

A stark shift in musical aesthetic, Hourglass sees MAKO graduating beyond their early beginnings in dance music and reaching far into the spheres of pop, indie rock and beyond. Highlights on the album also include: "Smoke Filled Room," MAKO's breakthrough single which soared into pop and dance radio airplay charts via continuous support on SiriusXM's BPM and iHeartRadio's Evolution channels and landed at #1 on the Dance Airplay chart; "North Dakota," a stunning and unique soulful ballad about finding solace outside of the big city; "Run for Your Life," which is three minutes of pop genius produced with the help of Norway's Rat City and features a guest vocal from Natalola; and "Craziest Day I Ever Had," a hilarious tale of misadventure in Los Angeles. The full track listing follows below.
Around the release of the album, MAKO will perform their first-ever live shows with a trio of showcases at the Mercury Lounge in New York City December 6, Rickshaw Stop in San Francisco December 13 and The Resident in Los Angeles December 14. At each show, Alex Seaver will sing and play piano and Logan Light will perform on drums and programming. They will be accompanied by a guitarist and additional players. Local pre-sale launches on November 8 at 10 am PT with registration for the password available at Public on-sale goes live on Friday, November 11 at 10 am PT.
Look for MAKO to perform a select run of shows around Hourglass' release:
Tuesday, December 6 Mercury Lounge, New York City
Tuesday, December 13 Rickshaw Stop, San Francisco
Wednesday, December 14 The Resident, Los Angeles
Track List:
01 - Mako - Let Go Of The Wheel
02 - Mako & Morgan Page - Real Life
03 - Mako - Smoke Filled Room
04 - Mako - Wish You Back feat. Kwesi
05 - Mako - Into The Sunset
06 - Mako & Rat City - Run For Your Life feat. Natalola
07 - Mako - Paradise Lost
08 - Mako - Craziest Day I Ever Had
09 - Mako - North Dakota
10 - Mako - Devil May Cry
11 - Mako - Way Back Home
12 - Mako - Our Story (Hourglass Finale)
13 - Mako - Wish You Back feat. Kwesi (The Him Radio Edit)
About MAKO:
In an era where unexpected ingredients thrive, MAKO (Logan Light and Alex Seaver)offers a truly unique experience. Before an introduction was made, the two budding artists spent their early life progressing musically in radically different worlds. Alex attended The Juilliard School on full scholarship as musician and played with some of the world's elite classical artists in the most storied of venues. Meanwhile, Logan was quietly mastering the art of DJing and within only a few years, began opening for some of dance music's biggest international acts, including Tiesto and Avicii, and major appearances including Lollapalooza. The duo's first release "Beam" quickly circulated on blogs and YouTube, logging more than 5.7 million views to date. The track was featured on SiriusXM's Beta Test Tuesday which then prompted them to proclaim MAKO is "the next big thing." Since then, MAKO has found themselves in studio with some of dance music's top artists: Avicii, Steve Angello, Sander Van Doorn, R3hab, DubVision, Heather Bright, Le Castle Vania and many others.