The 6th Annual Boston One-Minute Play Festival Returns: Nasty Women Strike Back!

By: Dec. 02, 2016
Get Access To Every Broadway Story

Unlock access to every one of the hundreds of articles published daily on BroadwayWorld by logging in with one click.

Existing user? Just click login.

The Boston One-Minute Play Festival (#1MPF) returns with a twist: the sixth annual festival will celebrate the works of all women-identified playwrights and directors, as part of 1MPF's National Women's Initiative. Boston joins New York, Minneapolis, Chicago, South Florida, and other cities including an all women-identified cohort of artists this season. The aim of this program is to get a cohort of women-identified theatremakers in the room, uphold the important themes, ideas, conversations, and dialogues that bubble up to the surface, and hold space for valuable community conversations.

The marathon evening of one-minute plays by some of Boston & New England's established and emerging playwrights and directors will play three nights only, Saturday, January 7th, Sunday, January 8th, & Monday, January 9th at Boston Playwrights Theatre (949 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215). Tickets are $20, and available at

The 6th Annual Boston One-Minute Play Festival will feature works by:

Rosanna Alfaro, Liana Asim, Lydia Barnett-Mulligan, Barbara Blumenthal-Ehrlich, Lisa Burdick, Eleanor Burgess, Mia Chung, Mary Conroy, Jackie Davis, Elizabeth DuPre, Tai Feaster, Shari Frost, Jessica Foster, Marzie Ghasempour, Deirdre Girard, Sharon ElizaBeth Hart, Colleen Hughes, Kimberly Holliday, Ginger Lazarus, Jess Martin, Adara Meyers, Gillian Mackay-Smith, Lizzie Milanovich, Rebecca Miller, Lesley Moreau, Laura Neill, Samantha Noble, Catherine O'Neill, Mara Elissa Palma, Kira Rockwell, Karmo Sanders, Alexis Scheer, Cassie M. Seinuk, Jan Soolman, Donna Sorbello, Judith Strang, Jaclyn Villano, Debra Wiess, Livian Yeh, & More!

Directed by Liz Adams, Lyndsay Allyn Cox, J. Deschene, Lindsay Eagle, Kira Hawkridge, Tonasia Jones, Stephanie LeBolt, Danielle Lucas, Mary Elizabeth Peters, Hannah Pryfogle, Jess Viator, & Amy West!

Curated & Led by 1MPF Associate Producer & National Women's Initiaive Coordinator, Caitlin Wees

"I'm thrilled to continue our partnership with Boston Playwrights' Theatre and embark on a new challenge in this amazing community," comments #1MPF Producing Artistic Director Dominic D'Andrea. "We've had six amazing years working with the Boston theatre community at-large and being able to change things up and reframe the Festival as a gathering of women identified artists and women's voices seems like an opportunity that is needed - and it feels very right. Boston has an incredible cohort of theatremakers who happen identify as women-some of the best in the American theatre. It's exciting to get them all in a room, tell them to write about whatever they want, and see what might happen! We have no idea what might be said, but we'll all be listening and learning," adds D'Andrea.

About the Festival

The One-­Minute Play Festival (#1MPF) is a grass-roots community-engaged theatre festival, founded by Producing Artistic Director, Dominic D'Andrea. #1MPF is social barometer practice, which investigates local zeitgeist and narratives through dialogue, consensus building, and a performance of minute-long moments generated by each community. #1MPF works in partnership with traditional theatres, cultural institutions, and social justice institutions sharing educational, community-focused, or public service missions across the country. The aim is to create locally sourced community events, with the goal of promoting the spirit of radical inclusion. #1MPF includes participants of different points of age, race, culture, gender, socio-economic background, and stage of career. The work attempts to reflect the values, topics, trends, styles, ideas, and big conversations that bubble up to the surface in each community.

Partnerships have been created with theaters in over 20 cities including: New York, Los Angeles, San Francisco, Chicago, New Jersey, Atlanta, Philadelphia, Washington, DC, Baltimore, Boston, Miami, Minneapolis, New York, Seattle, Dallas, Austin, Indianapolis, Kansas City, Anchorage, Honolulu, St. Louis, Providence, and more, with partnering institutions like Primary Stages, Oregon Shakespeare Festival, Trinity Rep, New Georges at New York City Center, Z-Space, Victory Gardens Theatre, Cornerstone Theatre Company, The Playwrights Foundation, Boston Playwrights Theatre, Actor's Express, InterAct Theatre, Mixed Blood, Walking Shadow Theatre, Passage Theatre, Phoenix Theatre, Kitchen Dog Theatre, Salvage Vanguard & ScriptWorks, ACT, Perseverance Theatre, Round House Theatre, Honolulu Theatre For Youth, and others.

Notable #1MPF contributors have included: David Henry Hwang, Lynn Nottage, Neil LaBute, Tina Howe, Donald Margulies, Nilaja Sun, Tarell Alvin McCraney, Robert Schenkkan, Lydia Diamond, Phillip Kan Gotanda, Kristoffer Diaz, Rajiv Joseph, Sam Hunter, Karen Hartman, Robert Askins, Colman Domingo, José Rivera, Craig Lucas, Mike Daisey, Greg Kotis, Michael John Garcés, & over to 1400 celebrated, emerging, and midcareer playwrights. For more information visit:


To post a comment, you must register and login.

Vote Sponsor