Skip to main content Skip to footer site map
Click Here for More Articles on 2010 AWARDS SEASON

Urie, Ivey, Orphans, Scottsboro & More Win 2010 Lortel Awards

Lortel Statues for 14 categories and 2 special awards were handed out by celebrity presenters at the 2010 Lucille Lortel Awards at a live awards ceremony tonight at Terminal 5.  Hosted by the Off-Broadway League, the live show was co-hosted by Bryan Batt and Bebe Neuwirth and featured performances by Alan Menken, STOMP, Seth Rudetsky, Edward Watts of The Fanasticks and LaChanze. 
The theme of the ceremony was “Off-Broadway Comes Home” and the show, directed by Michael Heitzman with musical direction by David Holcenberg, featured performances highlighting the best of Off-Broadway in the last 25 years and a special curated exhibition spanning these years was on display. The Lucille Lortel Award ceremony was produced by the Off-Broadway League by special arrangement with the Lucille Lortel Foundation.  This year’s ceremony was a benefit The Actors Fund.  Additional support provided by Theatre Development Fund. Support also provided by Inside Park at St. Bart’s, Ferrari and MontGras.
In honor of the 25th anniversary milestone, the Lucille Lortel Awards has put together an intimate salon-style exhibit at Terminal 5 to showcase past winning companies and their productions. Showcasing a selection of posters, photographs, costumes, and other ephemera, curated by Tiffany Nixon, June Reich and Ryan Anthony Donaldson, attention is drawn to the significance of, and need for preserving materials designed and created for Off-Broadway theatres. These materials enhance the understanding of Off-Broadway’s incredible contribution to New York’s ever-growing theatre history.
Representatives of the Off-Broadway League, Actors’ Equity Association, Stage Directors & Choreographers Society and the Lucille Lortel Foundation in addition to theatre journalists, academics and other Off-Broadway professionals serve on the Voting Committee.  
The 2010 Voting Committee is comprised of Terry Berliner, John Clinton Eisner, Kurt Everhart, Peter Filichia, Jeffrey Fiske, George Forbes, Susan Gallin, Eleanor Goldhar, Melanie Herman, Linda Herring
, Walt Kiskaddon, Renee Lasher, Russell Lehrer, Niclas Nagler, Barbara Pasternack, Richard Price, Mark Rossier, David Savran, and Barbara Toy.
For more information, visit the Lortel Awards website,


Outstanding Play:

Clybourne Park; Playwrights Horizons, Producer; Written by Bruce Norris.
The Brother/Sister Plays; The Public Theater in association with McCarter Theatre, Producers; Written by Tarell Alvin McCraney.
The Orphans' Home Cycle; Signature Theatre Company and Hartford Stage, Producers; Written by Horton Foote.
The Temperamentals; Daryl Roth, Stacy Shane and Martian Entertainment, Producers; Written by Jon Marans.
When The Rain Stops Falling; Lincoln Center Theater, Producer; Written by Andrew Bovell.

Outstanding Musical:

Click, Clack, Moo; Theatreworks USA, Producer; Book by Billy Aronson, Lyrics by Kevin Del Aguila, Music by Brad Alexander, Based on the book by Doreen Cronin with illustrations by Betsy Lewin.
Everyday Rapture; Second Stage Theatre, Producer; Written by Dick Scanlan and Sherie Rene Scott.
The Scottsboro Boys; Vineyard Theatre, Producer; Book by David Thompson, Lyrics and Music by John Kander and Fred Ebb.
The Toxic Avenger; Jean Cheever and Tom Polum, Producers; Book and Lyrics by Joe DiPietro, Music and Lyrics by David Bryan, Based on Lloyd Kaufman's The Toxic Avenger.
Yank! A WWII Love Story;
The York Theatre Company, Maren Berthelsen/Pamela Koslow/Stuart Wilk, Matt Schicker, Hugh Hayes, Jim Kierstead and Sondra Healy/Shidan Majidi, Producers; Music by Joseph Zellnik, Book and Lyrics by David Zellnik.

Outstanding Solo Show:
A Boy and His Soul; Vineyard Theatre, Producer; Written and performed by Colman Domingo.
Let Me Down Easy; Second Stage Theatre, Producer; Written and performed by Anna Deavere Smith.
Nightingale; Manhattan Theatre Club, Producer; Written and performed by Lynn Redgrave.
The Lady With All the Answers; Cherry Lane Theatre, Producer; Written by David Rambo, Performed by Judith Ivey.
Zero Hour; Kurt Peterson and Edmund Gaynes, in association with The Peccadillo Theater Company, Producers; Written and performed by Jim Brochu.
Outstanding Revival:

A Lie of the Mind; The New Group, Producer; Written by Sam Shepard.
Candida; The Irish Repertory Theatre and Alexis Doyle, Producers; Written by George Bernard Shaw.
Measure for Measure; Theatre for a New Audience, Producer; Written by William Shakespeare.
The Emperor Jones; The Irish Repertory Theatre, Producer; Written by Eugene O'Neill
The Glass Menagerie; Roundabout Theatre Company in association with Long Wharf Theatre, Producers; Written by Tennessee Williams.

Outstanding Director:

Walter Bobbie, Venus in Fur
David Cromer, When the Rain Stops Falling
Gordon Edelstein, The Glass Menagerie
Pam MacKinnon, Clybourne Park
Joe Mantello, The Pride

Outstanding Choreographer:

Jeffry Denman, Yank! A WWII Love Story
Ken Roberson, A Boy and His Soul
Wendy Seyb, Click, Clack, Moo
Wendy Seyb, The Toxic Avenger
Susan Stroman, The Scottsboro Boys

Outstanding Lead Actor:

Hugh Dancy, The Pride
Patch Darragh, The Glass Menagerie
Brandon Victor Dixon, The Scottsboro Boys
John Douglas Thompson, The Emperor Jones
Michael Urie, The Temperamentals

Outstanding Lead Actress:

Nina Arianda, Venus in Fur
Jayne Houdyshell, Coraline
Judith Ivey, The Glass Menagerie
Cristin Milioti, Stunning
Sherie Rene Scott, Everyday Rapture

Outstanding Featured Actor:

Keith Carradine, A Lie of the Mind
Adam James, The Pride
David Pittu, Equivocation
Jeremy Shamos, Clybourne Park
C.J. Wilson, Happy Now?

Outstanding Featured Actress:

Tracee Chimo, Circle Mirror Transformation
Mary Beth Hurt, When the Rain Stops Falling
Laurie Metcalf, A Lie of the Mind
Nancy Opel, The Toxic Avenger
Andrea Riseborough, The Pride

Outstanding Scenic Design:

David Korins, When the Rain Stops Falling
David Korins, Why Torture is Wrong, and the People Who Love Them
Derek McLane, A Lie of the Mind
Michael Yeargan, The Glass Menagerie
David Zinn, The Pride

Outstanding Costume Design:

Miranda Hoffman, Stunning
Martin Pakledinaz, The Glass Menagerie
Clint Ramos, So Help Me God!
Ilona Somogyi, Clybourne Park
Anita Yavich, Venus in Fur

Outstanding Lighting Design:

Mark Barton, Circle Mirror Transformation
Paul Gallo, The Pride
Peter Kaczorowski, The Brother/Sister Plays
Tyler Micoleau, When the Rain Stops Falling
Rui Rita, The Orphans' Home Cycle

Outstanding Sound Design:

Kurt Fischer, The Toxic Avenger
John Gromada, The Orphans' Home Cycle
Fitz Patton, When the Rain Stops Falling
Shane Rettig, A Lie of the Mind
Ryan Rumery and Christian Frederickson, The Emperor Jones

Special Awards:

Outstanding Body of Work:

Lincoln Center Theater
Lifetime Achievement Award:

Daryl Roth

Related Articles

More Hot Stories For You