Tyne Daly, Christine Ebersole & More to Perform at Angela Lansbury's Induction into Bucks County Playhouse Alumni Hall of Fame, 10/28

Bucks County Playhouse (BCP) has announced performers and special guests for the Angela Lansbury inaugural induction ceremony to the Bucks County Playhouse Alumni Hall of Fame on Monday, October 28th, which honors theatrical luminaries who have graced the New Hope stage.

Tony winners Tyne Daly and Christine Ebersole will be joined by Tony nominee Hunter Foster, Justin Guarini, Lauren Molina and Nick Cearley in special vocal performances honoring Ms. Lansbury. Theatrical veterans and Tony winners Boyd Gaines and Alfred Uhry, both who worked with Ms. Lansbury on the 2013 Australian Tour of Driving Miss Daisy, will join as special guests.

As previously announced, Harold Prince will present Angela Lansbury with her Bucks County Playhouse Alumni Hall of Fame honoree award. Mr. Prince directed Ms. Lansbury in the original production of Sweeney Todd, for which they both received Tony Awards.

"What better way to induct Angela Lansbury into our Hall of Fame than to surround her with her adoring fellow artists," said Producing Director Jed Bernstein. "Angela Lansbury appeared at The Playhouse in 1952's Affairs of State, years before she stepped foot onto the Broadway stage, making her the perfect first honoree."

Angela Lansbury has enjoyed a seven-decade career, as a screen star and as an award-winning stage actor in New York and London. She made her Broadway debut in 1957 as Bert Lahr's wife in Hotel Paradiso. Her other Broadway credits include A Taste of Honey (1960), Anyone Can Whistle (1961),Mame (1966, Tony Award), Dear World (1968, Tony Award), Gypsy (1974 revival, Tony Award), Sweeney Todd (1979, Tony Award), Blithe Spirit (2009 revival, Tony Award), A Little Night Music (2009 revival), and The Best Man (2012). Recently, she appeared with James Earl Jones and Boyd Gaines in the 2013 Australian tour of Driving Miss Daisy. From 1984-1996 she starred as Jessica Fletcher on "Murder She Wrote," the longest running detective drama series in the history of television. Named a Commander of the British Empire by Queen Elizabeth in 1994, she received the Kennedy Center Honor in 2000. In addition to her 5 Tony Awards, she is also the winner of 6 Golden Globe Awards and has been nominated for 3 Oscars and 18 Emmys.

Tickets benefitting the Bucks County Playhouse are $100 for the induction ceremony, $150 for the gala reception, and $250 including both induction ceremony and gala reception. Ticket prices include a tax-deductible contribution to the Bucks County Playhouse.

To purchase tickets and for more information on The Playhouse, visit bcptheater.org, call 215-862-2121 or visit the box office at 70 South Main Street New Hope, PA (7 Days noon-5).

Additional performers and special guests will be announced shortly.

Photo Credit: Walter McBride

Related Articles

From This Author BWW News Desk

Before you go...