Skip to main content Skip to footer site map
Click Here for More Articles on 2022 AWARDS SEASON

THE FERRYMAN's Sam Mendes Wins 2019 Tony Award for Best Direction of a Play


Sam Mendes has won the 2019 Tony Award for Best Direction of a Play for THE FERRYMAN.

Sam Mendes founded and ran The Donmar Warehouse in London for ten years. He was the founding director of The Bridge Project and Neal Street Productions. His work has been seen at the National Theatre, RSC, Royal Court, Old Vic, Young Vic, BAM, the West End and on Broadway. Film includes American Beauty, Road to Perdition, Jarhead, Revolutionary Road, Away We Go, Skyfall and Spectre.

Awards include Academy Award Best Director, BAFTA Award, Golden Globe Award Best Director, 2 Tony Awards, 5 Olivier Awards, the Olivier Special Award, 3 Evening Standard Awards, Empire Inspiration Award, Directors Guild of America Award and the Shakespeare Prize. He has also won the Director's Guild Award for lifetime achievement. In addition to The Ferryman, his production of The Lehman Trilogy is currently running at the National Theatre in London.

Written by Jez Butterworth and directed Sam Mendes, in The Ferryman, it's 1981 in Northern Ireland, and the Carney farmhouse is a hive of activity with preparations for the annual harvest. A day of hard work on the land and a traditional night of feasting and celebrations lie ahead. But this year they will be interrupted by a visitor.

Related Articles

Buy at the Theatre Shop

T-Shirts, Mugs, Phone Cases & More

More Hot Stories For You