Streisand, Minnelli, Franklin, A CHORUS LINE & NUTTY PROFESSORs Cast to Pay Tribute to Marvin Hamlisch Today

Barbra Streisand, Aretha Franklin, Liza Minnelli, Itzhak Perlman, Lang Lang, Michael Feinstein, Chris Botti, Maria Friedman, Brian d'Arcy James, Carter Brey, Essential Voices USA, former cast members of A Chorus Line and cast members of The Nutty Professor will come together for an invitation only event on Tuesday, September 18, 2012 to pay tribute to Marvin Hamlisch.

The Juilliard School and family and friends will celebrate the life of the late Marvin Hamlisch, and announce scholarships named in his honor. The service is by invitation only. 

Celebrated composer, performer, arranger, musical coordinator, orchestrator, and musical supervisor, Marvin Hamlisch, passed away on August 6 at age 68.

Mr. Hamlisch left an indelible mark in the theatre world with the groundbreaking A Chorus Line, which won 10 Tony Awards® including the Tony Award for Best Musical as well as Best Original Score. The show also won the 1976 Pulitzer Prize for Drama. Other notable theatre works on Broadway include They're Playing Our Song, Jean Seberg, Smile, The Goodbye Girl and Sweet Smell of Success. His latest musical, The Nutty Professor, recently opened in Tennessee. His collaboration with numerous iconic talents throughout the years yielded over 20 Broadway shows.

A child prodigy, he was accepted into Juilliard before he was seven. Before he was 30, he had received Oscars for his score and song to The Way We Were and for his work on The Sting.

Mr. Hamlisch is only one of eleven people to have been awarded an Emmy, Grammy, Oscar and a Tony Award, in addition to Golden Globes and a Pulitzer Prize.

Related Articles

LIVE: HAMILTON or DEAR EVAN HANSEN for Best Long-Running Show...

More Hot Stories For You

Before you go...

Never Miss a Story
Like Us On Facebook
Follow Us On Twitter
Follow Us On Instagram instagram