Sheridan Smith and Eddie Redmayne Win at 2011 Critics' Circle Awards

By: Jan. 24, 2012
Get Access To Every Broadway Story

Unlock access to every one of the hundreds of articles published daily on BroadwayWorld by logging in with one click.

Existing user? Just click login.

Sheridan Smith, Benedict Cumberbatch and Eddie Redmayne all won awards at this afternoon's Critics' Circle Awards at the Prince of Wales Theatre.

The ceremony, presented by Mark Shenton of the Sunday Express and the Stage, was in  association with Nyman Libson Paul Chartered Accountants, leading entertainment industry specialists; and supported by Delfont Mackintosh Theatres.

As ever, the ceremony was an informal gathering of award recipients, the drama critics, theatre practitioners and the media, convivially coming together to celebrate the critics’ personal choice of the best theatre, from throughout the UK, during the last calendar year. Comedian Arthur Smith introduced proceedings with his own inimitable style, as has become a well-loved tradition.



Best New Play: One Man, Two Guvnors by Richard Bean
Lyttelton Theatre at the National, London, followed by a transfer to the Adelphi Theatre, London and from 2nd March 2012, Theatre Royal Haymarket, London
award presented to Richard Bean by Michael Coveney:

The Peter Hepple Award for Best Musical (new or revival): London Road
Cottesloe Theatre at the National, London
award presented to Alecky Blythe & Adam Cork by Kate Bassett: Independent on Sunday

Best Actor: Benedict Cumberbatch in Frankenstein
Olivier Theatre at the National, London
award presented to Danny Boyle by Michael Billington: The Guardian

Best Actress: Sheridan Smith in Flare Path
Theatre Royal Haymarket, London
award presented to Sheridan Smith by Libby Purves: The Times

The John and Wendy Trewin Award for Best Shakespearean Performance: Eddie Redmayne in Richard II
Donmar Warehouse, London
award presented to Eddie Redmayne by Georgina Brown: Mail on Sunday

Best Director: Mike Leigh for Grief
Cottesloe Theatre at the National, London
award presented to Mike Leigh by Susannah Clapp: Observer

Best Designer: Mark Tildesley for Frankenstein
Olivier Theatre at the National, London
award presented to Mark Tildesley by Charles Spencer: Daily Telegraph

Most Promising Playwright: Tom Wells for The Kitchen Sink
Bush Theatre, London
award presented to Tom Wells by Paul Taylor: The Independent

The Jack Tinker Award for Most Promising Newcomer (other than a playwright): Blanche McIntyre for Accolade & Foxfinder
Finborough Theatre, London
award presented to Blanche McIntyre by Caroline McGinn: Time Out

Since the Awards’ inception in 1989 the theatre critics, consisting entirely of respected and influential working journalists, have prided themselves on offering something unique on the packed theatre awards circuit: each member of the Drama Section independently casts their vote based on personal choice, free of any discussion or industry influence, ensuring a highly democratic voting process.