Click Here for More Articles on LITTLE MISS SUNSHINE

Second Stage's LITTLE MISS SUNSHINE Closes Off-Broadway Today

Second Stage's LITTLE MISS SUNSHINE Closes Off-Broadway Today

Currently celebrating its 35th Anniversary Season, Second Stage Theatre closes its production of James Lapineand William Finn's new musical comedy, LITTLE MISS SUNSHINE today, Sunday, December 15. The musical has broken box office records for Second Stage Theatre, earning the highest pre-opening advance in the company's 35-year history.

LITTLE MISS SUNSHINE, featuring book/direction by James Lapine and music/lyrics by William Finn, officially opened on Thursday, November 14 at Second Stage's Tony Kiser Theatre (305 West 43rd street).

On life's twisty road, sometimes you need to pull over and change direction. When the coveted title of "Little Miss Sunshine" is unexpectedly within her reach, young Olive Hoover convinces her family to make the 800 mile trek to the pre-teen pageant of her dreams. Along the way, a series of mishaps threatens to derail the group's quest for the crown, until they realize a young girl's far-fetched goal may actually hold the key to the family's happiness. From the Tony Award-winning team of James Lapine and William Finn comes LITTLE MISS SUNSHINE, a new musical comedy about one modern family's unexpected route to brighter days. LITTLE MISS SUNSHINE is based on the film, Little Miss Sunshine, written by Michael Arndt.

James Lapine and William Finn's previous collaborations include the Tony-winning hits Falsettos and The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee. William Finn is also the composer of In Trousers, Romance in Hard Times, and A New Brain. James Lapine is the book writer/director of the musicals Sunday in the Park with George, Into the Woods, and Passion, among others.

The company features Tony Award nominee Stephanie J. Block (The Mystery of Edwin Drood, Wicked), Alivia Clark,Victoria Dennis, Josh Lamon (Hair, Elf), Miranda McKeon, nine-year old Hannah Nordberg, Tony Award nominee RORY O'MALLEY (The Book of Mormon, 2ST's Nobody Loves You), David Rasche (2ST's Warrior Class),Logan Rowland (The Addams Family), Jennifer Sanchez (West Side Story), Leonay Shepherd, Tony Award nomineeWill Swenson (Hair; Priscilla, Queen of the Desert), and Wesley Taylor ("Smash," Rock of Ages).

LITTLE MISS SUNSHINE features scenic and projection design by Beowulf Boritt, costume design by Jennifer Caprio, lighting design by Ken Billington, and sound design by Jon Weston. Choreography is by Michele Lynch. The music director is Vadim Feichtner, orchestrations are by Michael Starobin, vocal and dance arrangements are by Will Aronson.

Photo Credit: Joan Marcus

Related Articles

From This Author BWW News Desk

Before you go...