Skip to main content Skip to footer site map

Robert Petkoff, Josh Young and Robby Benson Set for AMAZING GRACE Readings, 12/11 & 12


Robert Petkoff is joining Broadway & film star Robby Benson and Tony nominee Josh Young in the upcoming special invitational presentation of selections from the original new musical AMAZING GRACE, with music & lyrics by Christopher Smithand book by Mr. Smith & Arthur Giron, today, December 11th and December 12th at Lincoln Center's Clark Studio Theater. 

AMAZING GRACE has been in development over the past four years and the musical had a record-breaking run at Goodpeed's Norma Terris Theatre last summer. Under the direction of Gabriel Barre, the cast will also feature Whitney Bashor (The Fantasticks, Happy Days), Chris Hoch (Beauty and the Beast, Spamalot), Quentin Earl Darrington (Ragtime, Memphis), and Harriett D. Foy (Mamma Mia!, Once on This Island).

AMAZING GRACE is an epic musical love story based on the life and trials of John Newton, the former slave-trader who authored one of the world's most recognized songs. The story is told from the point of view of his childhood friend Mary Catlett, the woman who never lost faith in him and whose love, courage and unshakable conviction helped to transform his life. Their journey to find the meaning of their own existence will lead them to love, heartbreak and an epic quest to end the scourge of slavery. AMAZING GRACE encompasses everything from triumphant anthems to heart-rending ballads all set within a love story which transcends time and distance.

Robert Petkoff has starred on Broadway in Spamalot, Anything Goes, Fiddler on the Roof, and Ragtime. His film and TV credits include "Chappelle's Show," "Married with Children," "The Good Wife," "Quantum Leap," "Liberace," Game Day, Loverboy, Vice Versa, and Milk & Honey.

Also featured in the cast of AMAZING GRACE are Laiona Michelle, Jonathan Burke, Alison Cimmet, Merideth Kaye Clark, Rheaume Crenshaw, Tyrone Davis Jr., Brandon Ellis, Rachael Ferrera, Rita Harvey, Allen Kendall, Kevin Smith Kirkwood, Alex Krasser, Elizabeth Ward Land, Danny Rothman, Gavriel Savit, Dan Sharkey, Paul Michael Valley, Robin Walker, Charles E. Wallace, Toni Elizabeth White, and Christopher Wood. Music Supervisor for AMAZING GRACE is Kimberly Grigsby.

AMAZING GRACE is produced by Carolyn Rossi Copeland, in association with Alex Rankin, Michael Jenkins, AG Funding, and Larry Payton.

For more information, visit

Photo Credit: Walter McBride / Retna Ltd.

Related Articles

Buy at the Theatre Shop

T-Shirts, Mugs, Phone Cases & More

More Hot Stories For You