Photo Flash: Inside Transport Group's GIMME A BREAK Gala Honoring Barbara Whitman

By: Dec. 11, 2014
Get Access To Every Broadway Story

Unlock access to every one of the hundreds of articles published daily on BroadwayWorld by logging in with one click.

Existing user? Just click login.

Transport Group, the Drama Desk, Outer Critics Circle, and OBIE Award-winning theatre company, just presented its annual gala Gimme a Break!, honoring Tony Award-winning producer Barbara Whitman at the Asia Society and Museum, 725 Park Avenue. BroadwayWorld brings you photos from inside the special night below!

The evening, hosted by Julie Halston (You Can't Take It With You), featured performances from Alice Ripley (Next to Normal), Lindsey Mendez (Dogfight), Michael Cerveris (Fun Home), Lisa Kron (Fun Home), and Heather MacRae (I Remember Mama). Playwright Moises Kaufman (The Laramie Project) presented the "Transporting American Theatre" award to Barbara Whitman for her outstanding contribution to the American theatre. Past recipients of the "Transporting American Theatre" award include Beth Williams, Sue Frost,Christian Borle, Paul Huntley, Douglas Carter Beane, Lewis Flinn, A.R. Gurney, Liz Smith, Barbara Frietag, Terrence McNally, and Joe Mantello.

For tickets and for more information, visit or call 212-564-0333.

Photo Credit: Brian Gustaveson