Photo Flash: Inside Opening Night of THE DRAWER BOY

The SoHo Playhouse and Darren Lee Cole, Artistic Director of the SoHo Playhouse present The Drawer Boy, written by Michael Healey, and directed by Alexander Dinelaris. The show opened last night, April 24, at the SoHo Playhouse and runs through June 16. Check out photos from opening night below!

Winner of the Dora Mavor Moore Award for Outstanding New Play, a Chalmers Award, and a Governor General's Award, The Drawer Boy made its New York City premiere in March 2013 in a workshop presented by The Oberon Theatre Ensemble at the June Havoc Theatre in The Abington Theatre Arts Complex. Called "a beautifully written piece, humorous and heart-wrenching" by The New York Times, The Drawer Boy will play the SoHo Playhouse with the original New York Premiere cast and creative team.

Set in 1972 on a farm near Clinton, Ontario, The Drawer Boy replays the adventures of Miles, a young actor from a Toronto theatre group, who visits the rural Ontario home of two elderly bachelor farmers, Morgan and Angus, to "research" farm life for a new play. Morgan is the caretaker of Angus, who suffers from impaired mental capacities due to an injury suffered during World War II. When Miles enters the lives of The Farmers, he brings the story of Angus' injuries to the surface in this classic outsider-intrudes-on-a-closed-world play.

The Drawer Boy plays at the SoHo Playhouse (15 Vandam Street, NYC) Tuesdays through Sundays at 8:00 p.m., and Saturday and Sunday at 3:00 p.m., starting April 19, 2013 until June 16, 2013. The running time is approximately 2 hours with a ten minute intermission. Tickets are available for $79 (Premium) and $65 (Reserved). During preview performances, all tickets are available for $35. To purchase tickets, visit: or call (866) 811-4111.

Photo Credit: Mike Runner

high res photos

Cast of The Drawer Boy

William Laney

The Pigpen Theatre Co.

Alex Dinelaris & Cast

Cast of The Drawer Boy

Neil Koenigsberg

Alex Dinelaris

Brad Fryman

Alex Fast

Amith Chandrashaker

Jenna R. Lazar

Mark Karafin

Rebecca Lord-Surratt

Nick Moore

David Murin and Alex Dinelaris

high res photos

Related Articles

More Hot Stories For You

Breaking: Steve Buscemi, Chris Messina & More Join Greta Gerwig and Oscar Isaac in NYTW's THREE SISTERS
Complete casting, creatives, and more have been announced for New York Theatre Workshop's adaptation of Three Sisters by Anton Chekhov, for the previo... (read more)

Photo Flash: COMPANY Cast Strikes a Pose in Character!
Following the critically acclaimed, sold-out engagement in London's West End, the visionary new production of Stephen Sondheim and George Furth's land... (read more)

Hudson Loverro and More to Star in TREVOR; Full Casting Announced
Producers Roy Furman John Ambrosino / Josie Bray / Mark Woods have announced the 19-member company of Trevor, the new musical making its New York prem... (read more)

Photo Flash: First Look at FLY at La Jolla Playhouse, Starring Storm Lever, Lincoln Clauss, Isabelle McCalla, and More!
La Jolla Playhouse presents the new musical Fly, based on the J.M. Barrie novel Peter and Wendy.... (read more)

Photo Flash: First Look at Alexandra Billings, Lindsay Pearce and More in WICKED on Broadway
Get your first look at the latest company defying gravity in WIcked on Broadway!... (read more)

Check Out Exclusive New Designs & Savings In The Theatre Shop
The Theatre Shop is adding brand new designs every week! Start Monday off right by indulging your inner threatre kid with a brand new design!... (read more)