Click Here for More Articles on AVENUE Q

Photo Coverage: 65th Annual Theatre World Awards - Ceremony Part 3

Theatre World Awards for Outstanding Broadway or Off-Broadway Debut performances during the 2008-2009 theatrical season were presented by former Theatre World Award winners, including: Craig Bierko (The Music Man, 2000), Daniel Breaker(Passing Strange, 2008), Kristin Chenoweth (Steel Pier, 1997), Tovah Feldshuh (Yentl, 1976),Susan Kellermann (Last Licks, 1980), Loretta Ables Sayre (South Pacific, 2008), and John Tartaglia (Avenue Q, 2004).

The Theatre World Awards presentation were held at Manhattan Theatre Club's Samuel J. Friedman Theatre, 261 West 47th Street, in an invitation-only ceremony, Tuesday, June 2, 2009. Peter Filichia was host, Barry Keating directed, and Scott Denny, Kati Meister, and Erin Oestreich were the event's producers. BroadwayWorld's cameras were there for every moment of the starry celebration!

As previously announced, the 2008-09 Theatre World Award winners are: David Alvarez / Trent Kowalik / Kiril Kulish, Billy Elliot, The Musical; Chad L. Coleman, Joe Turner's Come and Gone;Jennifer Grace, Our Town; Josh Grisetti, Enter Laughing, The Musical; Haydn Gwynne, Billy Elliot, The Musical; Colin Hanks, 33 Variations; Marin Ireland, reasons to be pretty; Susan Louise O'Connor , Blithe Spirit; Condola Rashad, Ruined; Geoffrey Rush, Exit the King; Josefina Scaglione, West Side Story; and Wesley Taylor, Rock of Ages. A Special Award given to the Entire Cast of The Norman Conquests is being presented to: Amelia Bullmore, Jessica Hynes, Stephen Mangan, Ben Miles, Paul Ritter, and Amanda Root.

First presented in 1945, the prestigious Theatre World Awards are the oldest awards given for Broadway and Off-Broadway debut performances, and are among the oldest honors given to stage performers. The Theatre World Award winners have been chosen by the Theatre World Awards voting committee, currently comprised of David Cote (Time Out New York and NY1), Peter Filichia (The Star-Ledger and Theatermania), Harry Haun (Playbill), Matthew Murray (Talkin' Broadway),Frank Scheck (New York Post), Doug Watt (Critic Emeritus, New York Daily News), and Linda Winer (Newsday).

The Theatre World Award Board of Directors is: Kati Meister, President; Erin Oestreich, Secretary; Scott Denny, Treasurer; Tom Lynch, founding Board member; and Barry Keating.

The Theatre World Awards are presented annually in the spring to six actors and six actresses for their debut performances in a Broadway or Off-Broadway production. The ceremony is an invitation-only event followed by an afternoon party to celebrate the twelve new honorees and welcome them to the Theatre World "family." In what has become a highly entertaining and often touching tradition, former winners present awards to the new honorees, often reliving moments from past ceremonies and sharing wonderful stories rarely heard at other theatrical award ceremonies.

Photos by Walter McBride/Retna Ltd.

Related Articles

From This Author Walter McBride

Before you go...