Click Here for More Articles on NEW YORK CITY

NYTB in the D-Lounge To Reignite ROCKET SCIENCE, 9/10

NYTB in the D-Lounge To Reignite ROCKET SCIENCE, 9/10

Rocket Science, the new musical based on the HBO film of the same name, will enjoy a fresh look at its musical selections in concert at the upcoming NYTB in the D-Lounge, New York Theatre Barn's popular platform for up-and-coming new writers and musical projects, on Monday, September 10 at 7:30pm in the D-Lounge of the Daryl Roth Theatre.

With a book by Emmy-winner Patricia Cotter, music by Larson-winner Stephen Weiner, and lyrics by Larson-winner Jason Rhyne, the Richard Rodgers-winning Rocket Science is the story of Hal Hefner, life-long stutterer and odd-ball, who is plucked from high school obscurity by the Queen of the Debate Team. It's love at first tsunami, and soon Hal begins a life-affirming journey to tackle his biggest challenge: finding his true voice.

The presentation will directed by Brandon Ivie (Catch Me If You Can, 5th Avenue Theatre), with musical direction by Brandon Sturiale. Cast includes Jeremy Morse at Hal Hefner, with Ryah Nixon (9 to 5), Andrew Brewer (Nymph Errant), Charlie Owens (Transport Group's Baby Concert), Ashley Lynette Brown, Chandler Reeves, Whitney Kam Lee, and Aaron Riesebeck. Orchestrations are by Remy Kurs.

Alongside Rocket Science, NYTB will present The Songs of Caleb Hoyer, a concert of "orphan songs", by If It Only Even Runs A Minute musical director Caleb Hoyer. Hoyer's cast include Broadway standouts Jason Michael Snow (The Book of Mormon), AJ Shively (La Cage Aux Folles, February House), Kelli Barrett (Baby, It's You), and Leenya Rideout (John Doyle's Company, Cabaret), with Travis Nesbitt (Altar Boyz), Danielle Gimbal, Elena Glass, Stephanie Barnum, Michael Morley, Jeremy Morse, Crystal Mosser, Wilmari Myburgh, Carrie Salmon, and Gregory Williams. MK Lawson directs the set, with musical direction by Hoyer.

This September 2012 installment of NYTB in the D-Lounge will take place on Monday, September 10 at 7:30 PM in the D-Lounge of the Daryl Roth Theatre, 101 East 15th Street. Cover is $10, plus a two-drink minimum. Tickets may be purchased at the door by cash or credit card, and the doors will open at 7:15 PM. For more information and to learn more about New York Theatre Barn, visit:

New York Theatre Barn is a non-profit theatre company founded in 2007 and dedicated to the investigation, development, and advancement of new works. Productions include its original commission, Speargrove Presents, by Sammy Buck and Brandon James Gwinn, the all-female musical I Married Wyatt Earp (59E59 Theatres/Prospect Theater Co.) with Heather Mac Rae and Carolyn Mignini, the musical Wood (New York Musical Theatre Festival/Emily Miller) with Cady Huffman, and Bridget Bailey's award winning solo play Child of Hungry Times. New York Theatre Barn has been instrumental in the development of Adam Gwon's Ordinary Days, the musical parody Hey, You Know What Movie Would Make A Good Musical?, Cait Doyle's Hot Mess in Manhattan, and Katie Thompson's R.R.R.E.D. The company's monthly platform for new work, NYTB in the D-Lounge, provides a community and a home for artists to discover and grow within their art form. Upcoming: Speargrove Presents. New York Theatre Barn is a proud member of the National Alliance for Musical Theatre.

Patricia Cotter is an Emmy-winner and playwright whose musicals (librettist/adaptations) include The Breakup Notebook the Lesbian Musical, (based on her play) with composer Lori Scarlett; Mulan Jr. (adaptation, additional lyrics,) based on the Disney film Mulan with music licensed through MTI; and Rocket Science: A Musical, (which received the 2010 Richard Rodgers Development Award from the American Academy of Arts and Letters (composer Stephen Weiner, lyricist Jason Rhyne). Reading held at Playwrights Horizons, NYC (directed by Kathleen Marshall). She is a Groundling Theater Sunday Show Alum.

Stephen Weiner is a two time winner of the Richard Rodgers Award, Jonathan Larson Award, ASCAP New Horizons Award, Global Search for New Musicals Award, and nominated for a Drama Desk, Obie and Lucille Lortel Awards. He has composed music for the The Honeymooners, as well as for Iron Curtain, Rocket Science, Once Upon A Time In New Jersey, The Hudsucker Proxy, newyorkers, and Spittin' Image. His work has been performed Off-Broadway, regionally and globally, and developed at The Eugene O'Neill Musical Theater Conference, Playwrights Horizons, Perry Mansfield, and The Village Theater. Steve is a member of ASCAP and The Dramatists Guild.

Jason Rhyne is a recipient of a Jonathan Larson Grant for his work as a composer-lyricist, and wrote the lyrics for the musical Rocket Science (music by Stephen Weiner, book by Patricia Cotter), which was awarded a 2010 Richard Rodgers Award. Rocket Science has received staged readings at Playwrights Horizons (dir. Kathleen Marshall), the Village Theatre and the LA Festival of New American Musicals. Other credits include music and lyrics for the The MacGuffin (New York Musical Theatre Festival); and a musical adaptation of the children's novel Littlejim. Jason is an alumnus of the BMI Musical Theatre Workshop and a member of ASCAP.

Caleb Hoyer is a composer/lyricist from Pittsburg, KS. Music, book, & lyrics: Nightfall (2 NY readings), Dance Moms: The Musical (w/Kevin Michael Murphy, 4@15). Concerts: 2 concerts of original songs at The Laurie Beechman Theatre, If It Only Even Runs A Minute (Bistro Award), Moments With Ravi (contributed song), After School Special (contributed songs), Jay Armstrong Johnson at Birdland (music direction and arrangements), and the upcoming Once Upon A Time In New York City (Joe's Pub, contributing song). Music direction: Children of Eden, Smile, Baby, Company, First Odd Prime, One Step Closer: The Music of Alan Menken (co-conceived & arranged). BM in Theory & Composition from NYU, where he received The Alan Menken Award.

Visit their youtube channel or follow them on Twitter @NYTheatreBarn.

Related Articles

From This Author BWW News Desk

Before you go...