Skip to main content Skip to footer site map

Masterworks Bway to Release The Pirate Queen Cast Album

Masterworks Broadway will release the Original Broadway Cast Recording of Alain Boublil and Claude-Michel Schönberg's epic new musical The Pirate Queen.  The CD will be available nationwide on July 3, 2007. 

Boublil and Schönberg, the Tony Award-winning authors of Les Misérables and Miss Saigon, served as the album's executive producers under the aegis of Bouberg Music Limited.  The cast of 42, led by Stephanie J. Block, Hadley Fraser, Linda Balgord, Marcus Chait, Jeff McCarthy and William Youmans recorded the album at Legacy Studios in New York City on April 30, 2007.  The album is being mixed at Angel Studios in London.  The Pirate Queen is currently in performances at Broadway's Hilton Theatre (213 West 42nd Street, NYC), where it opened officially on April 5, 2007.

"Commissioned and presented by Moya Doherty and John McColgan, the team behind Riverdance, The Pirate Queen combines classic storytelling with a sweeping score and joyous dancing to celebrate the real-life story of legendary Irish Chieftain Grace O'Malley: a compelling, inspiring heroine who led an extraordinary life as a pirate, chieftain, lover and mother in 16th Century Ireland.  To protect her people and save her one true love, O'Malley must confront the one woman more powerful than herself…her fierce rival, Queen Elizabeth I of England," state press materials.

With music and lyrics by Boublil and Schönberg, the musical features a stirring, romantic and Celtic-inspired score with the signature ballads "Woman," "Here on This Night," "I'll Be There," "She Who Has All" and "Woman to Woman."  Other highlights include the boisterous bar room number "Boys'll Be Boys" and the uplifting ensemble number, "A Day Beyond Belclare." 

The track listing is as follows:

1       Prologue
2       The Pirate Queen
3       Woman
4       My Grace
5       Here on this Night
6       The Waking of the Queen
7       Rah-Rah, Tip-Top
8       The Choice is Mine
9       Boys'll Be Boys
10      The Wedding
11      I'll Be There
12      A Day Beyond Belclare
13      Sail to the Stars

14      Entr'Acte
15      Enemy at Port Side
16      I Dismiss You
17      If I Said I Love You
18      The Role of the Queen
19      The Christening
20      Let a Father Stand by his Son
21      Surrender
22      She Who Has All
23      The Sea of Life
24, 25       Woman to Woman
26      Finale

The new musical is directed by Tony Award-winner Frank Galati with musical staging by Graciela Daniele. The creative team includes: John Dempsey (co-lyricist), Richard Maltby, Jr. (co-book and co-lyricist), Julian Kelly (orchestrations, vocal arrangements, musical supervision and musical direction) and Carol Leavy Joyce (Irish Dance Choreographer).  The Pirate Queen features set design by Eugene Lee, costume design by Martin Pakledinaz, lighting design by Kenneth Posner and sound design by Jonathan Deans.  Edgar Dobie is executive producer. 

Visit or for more information.

TodayTix Black Friday

Related Stories

More Hot Stories For You

STOMP Will Close in New York City Next Month After Nearly 29 YearsSTOMP Will Close in New York City Next Month After Nearly 29 Years
December 6, 2022

The award-winning percussion, rhythm and comedy sensation, STOMP will end its (almost) 29-year run on January 8, 2023. STOMP's North American and European tours will continue to run.

EVITA Revival Will Be Produced at A.R.T. in May 2023EVITA Revival Will Be Produced at A.R.T. in May 2023
December 6, 2022

A new revival of Andrew Lloyd Webber and Tim Rice’s rock opera Evita is headed to the American Repertory Theater (A.R.T.) at Harvard University in May 2023, led by Terrie and Bradley Bloom Artistic Director Diane Paulus and Executive Director Kelvin Dinkins, Jr. The A.R.T., in association with Shakespeare Theatre Company, will produce Evita May 14 - July 16, 2023 at the Loeb Drama Center in Harvard Square.

Tickets On Sale Now For A DOLL'S HOUSE Starring Jessica ChastainTickets On Sale Now For A DOLL'S HOUSE Starring Jessica Chastain
December 6, 2022

Tickets for the upcoming Broadway revival of A Doll's House, starring Academy Award winner Jessica Chastain, are now on sale to the general public.

INTO THE WOODS Will Bring Broadway Cast to Cities Across AmericaINTO THE WOODS Will Bring Broadway Cast to Cities Across America
December 6, 2022

The Broadway revival of James Lapine and Stephen Sondheim’s Into the Woods, which concludes its engagement at the St. James Theatre on January 8, play engagements in select cities across the United States. Learn more about the cast, where the show will be, how to get tickets, and more!

VIDEO: Lea Michele Sings 'I'm the Greatest Star' From FUNNY GIRL and Shares She's Heard From Barbra StreisandVIDEO: Lea Michele Sings 'I'm the Greatest Star' From FUNNY GIRL and Shares She's Heard From Barbra Streisand
December 6, 2022

Lea Michele performed 'I'm the Greatest Star' from Funny Girl on Late Night With Seth Meyers on Monday, December 5. The episode aired from 12:35-1:35 a.m. ET on NBC is available to stream today on Peacock.