Evan Ruggiero & Gemma Bond Named Winners of 2018 Clive Barnes Awards

Evan Ruggiero & Gemma Bond Named Winners of 2018 Clive Barnes Awards

The Clive Barnes Foundation announced today, Monday, January 8, 2018, that Evan Ruggiero(Bastard Jones) has won the Eighth Annual Clive Barnes Award for Theater. Mr. Ruggiero received his award alongside Gemma Bond (American Ballet Theatre) who was named the recipient of theEighth Annual Clive Barnes Award for Dance. The announcement was made at the Eighth Annual Clive Barnes Awards ceremony, which was held at The Walter Reade Theatre at Lincoln Center.

All finalists (Elena Wang of Bastard Jones and Grace Van Patten of Whirligig) receive a cash prize, while the winners (Mr. Ruggiero and Ms. Bond) will receive an award of $5,000.

This year's Theatre Award was presented by Tony Award-nominee and former New York City Ballet Principal DancerRobert Fairchild (An American in Paris), this year's Dance Artist Award was presented by international ballet star David Hallberg. The New York Post's Michael Riedel, also the author of the bestselling book Razzle Dazzle: The Battle for Broadway and co-host of Theater Talk, oversaw the awards as Master of Ceremonies.

Past presenters have included Joel Grey, Annaleigh Ashford, Wendy Whelan, Susan Stroman, Frederic Franklin CBE, Cherry Jones, Paloma Hererra, Rob McClure and Nina Arianda. Previous winners are Chase Finlay (2010, Principal with New York City Ballet), Nina Arianda (2010, Venus in Fur, Tony Award-winner), MJ Rodrigues (2011, RENT), Isabella Boylston (2011, Principal with American Ballet Theatre), Rob McClure (2012, Chaplin, Tony Award-nominee), Lauren Lovette (2012, Principal with New York City Ballet), Jonny Orsini (2013, The Nance, Fish in the Dark), Lloyd Mayor (2013, Martha Graham Dance Company), Russell Janzen (2014, Principal for New York City Ballet), Alex Sharp (2014, Curious Incident of the Dog in the Nighttime, Tony Award-winner), Gabe Stone Shayer (2015, American Ballet Theater), Dave Thomas Brown (2015, The Legend of Georgia McBride), Khris Davis (2016, The Royale), and Indiana Woodward (2016, New York City Ballet).

The finalists and winners for the dance and theatre awards are chosen by the Selection Committee, which is comprised of a panel of critics and performers in each field. This year's Selection Committee for the Clive Barnes Award includes William H. Ausman, Siobhan Burns, Diana Byer, Pia Catton, Frank DiLella, George Dorris, Barbara Hoffman, Arthur Mitchell, Patrick Pacheco, James Sutton, and Valerie Taylor-Barnes.


Throughout his professional life, Clive Barnes was caring and generous to his colleagues and friends; always ready to advise and listen. After his death, many condolence letters spoke of his generosity and practical help, especially to young people. In this spirit, The Clive Barnes Foundation was formed in 2009 to create Annual Awards giving recognition, encouragement, and financial support to two talented young professionals and, thus, honoring the memory of the many years of critical work and the warm personal generosity of Clive Barnes.

The Foundation gives an Annual Award to two talented young professionals in the artistic fields of dance and theatre.

The Clive Barnes Foundation Board of Directors includes Valerie Taylor-Barnes (President), William H. Ausman (Vice President), Charles Askegard, George Dorris, Anthony Ferro, Paloma Herrera, Holly Jones, Michelle Mathesius, Lloyd Mayor, Arthur Mitchell, Michael Riedel, Spring Sirkin, and Craig Wright.

Related Articles

More Hot Stories For You

Before you go...

Never Miss a Story
Like Us On Facebook
Follow Us On Twitter
Follow Us On Instagram instagram