Click Here for More Articles on SMASH on NBC

Daniel Sunjata Joins SMASH Season 2 in Recurring Role!

Daniel Sunjata Joins SMASH Season 2 in Recurring Role!

According to a report by, Daniel Sunjata will join SMASH Season 2 on NBC in a recurring role as the new love interest of Debra Messing's character Julia.

Read the original report here.

Last season, Messing's character had an affair, leaving her marriage in tatters. Other developments this season include the addition of Karen's new roommate, played by Krysta Rodriguez, along with Jennifer Hudson, Broadway's Jeremy Jordan and more making appearances throughout the season. As previously reported, Jaime Cepero, Raza Jaffrey, Will Chase and Brian d'Arcy James will not return when the show premieres midseason.

Sunjata has appeared on TV in FX's Rescue Me, ABC's Grey's Anatomy and has played several episodic roles on shows such as Law & Order and 30 Rock. On film, he can be seen most recently in The Dark Knight Rises, as well as The Devil Wears Prada, and more.

Sunjata's Broadway credits include the 2007 revival of Cyrano De Bergerac, Take Me Out in 2003 (for which he won a Theatre World Award and earned Tony and Drama Desk nominations) and Lincoln Center's 1998 revival of Twelfth Night.

"Smash" is a musical drama that celebrates the beauty and heartbreak of the Broadway theater as it follows a cross-section of dreamers and schemers who all have one common desire - to be a Broadway star The series stars Emmy Award winner Debra Messing ("Will & Grace"), Oscar winner Anjelica Huston ("Prizzi's Honor"), Jack Davenport ("Pirates of the Caribbean" films), Tony Award winner Christian Borle ("Peter and the Starcatcher"), Katharine McPhee ("American Idol"), Megan Hilty ("9 to 5: The Musical") and Tony Award nominee Jeremy Jordan ("Newsies").

From Universal Television in association with DreamWorks Television, "Smash" stemmed from an idea of executive producer and multiple Emmy and Oscar winner Steven Spielberg ("ER," "Schindler's List"). The series' executive producers also include Joshua Safran ("Gossip Girl"), Craig Zadan and Neil Meron (Oscar-winning "Chicago," "Hairspray"), Darryl Frank and Justin Falvey ("United States of Tara," "The Borgias"), Tony and Grammy Award winners Marc Shaiman and Scott Wittman ("Hairspray," "Catch Me If You Can") and Theresa Rebeck ("Mauritius," "NYPD Blue").



Related Articles

From This Author BWW News Desk