2011 Awards Season
Click Here for More Articles on 2011 Awards Season

CATCH ME IF YOU CAN Leads Astaire Award Nominations with 6


Catch Me If You Can led the pack in scoring 6 nominations for the 29th Annual Fred & Adele Astaire Awards. The nominees were announced by choreographer & director Lee Roy Reams
at a special reception hosted by Carolyn Kendall Buchter, Ronald Buchter and Patricia Watt, Producer of the Astaire Awards at Theater Row's Firebird Russian Restaurant,. The "Astaires" are the only awards to honor excellence in dance and choreography on Broadway and in film.

This year's Nominating Committee Chair is Sylviane Gold. Committee members include Anna Kisselgoff, Damian Woetzel, Wendy Perron, Manny and Lani Azenberg, Donna McKechnie, Lee Roy Reams, Wendy Federman, Barbara and Buddy Freitag, Michael Riedel, Marge Champion, Margaret Selby, Melinda Atwood, Bryan Bantry, Adam Zotovich, Andy Sandberg and Bruce Michael.

The Awarding Committee includes Sylviane Gold, Anna Kisselgoff, Wendy Perron, Lee Roy Reams and Damian Woetzel.

2011 Fred & Adele Astaire Awards Honorary Chairs are Judith Jamison and Wendy Federman. Awards Gala Chairs are Carolyn Kendall Buchter, Cassandra Seidenfeld Lyster and Bruce Michael. Producer is Patricia Watt. Co-Producer is Joe Lanteri, National Dance Alliance. Associate Producer is Bronwen Carson. Director is Joe Lanteri. The Awards are presented by Ava Astaire and the Douglas Watt Family Fund for the Performing Arts. The awards gala will benefit the Dance & Movement Therapy Programs in New York Public Schools and scholarships for dancers through National Dance Alliance.

This year's Awards will take place at Skirball Center for the Performing Arts at NYU on May 15. The Jack H. Skirball Center for the Performing Arts is the premier venue for the presentation of cultural and performing arts events for New York University and lower Manhattan. Led by executive producer Jay Oliva (President Emeritus, NYU) and senior director Michael Harrington, the programs of Skirball Center reflect NYU's mission as an international center of scholarship, defined by excellence and innovation and shaped by an intellectually rich and diverse environment. A vital aspect of the Center's mission is to build young adult audiences for the future of live performance. www.skirballcenter.nyu.edu

For more information or advance ticket purchase for one of the entertainment industry's most electrifying evenings, the 2011 Fred & Adele Astaire Awards on May 15 at the Skirball Center for the Performing Arts at New York University please visit www.theastaireawards.org

Nominees for Excellence In Dance & Choreography on Broadway are:

Rob Ashford - How to Succeed in Business Without Really Trying
Marguerite Derricks - Wonderland
Kathleen Marshall - Anything Goes
Jerry Mitchell - Catch Me if You Can
Toby Sedgwick - Warhorse
Susan Stroman - Scottsboro Boys
Anthony Van Laast - Sister Act
Danny Mefford - Bloody, Bloody Andrew Jackson
Casey Nicholaw - Book of Mormon


Rachel de Benedet - Catch Me if You Can
Sutton Foster - Anything Goes
Jennifer Frankel - Catch Me if You Can
J. Elaine Marcos - Pricilla
Patina Miller - Sister Act
Laura Osnes - Anything Goes
Angie Schworer - Catch Me if You Can
Megan Sikora - How to Succeed
Samantha Zack - How to Succeed


Nick Adams - Priscilla, Queen of the Desert
Norbert Leo Butz - Catch Me if You Can
Colman Domingo - Scottsboro Boys
Colin Donnell - Anything Goes
Josh Gad - Book of Mormon
Joshua Henry - Scottsboro Boys
Daniel Radcliffe - How to Succeed in Business Without Really Trying
Aaron Tveit - Catch Me if You Can


Black Swan - Choreographer Benjamin Millepied
Burlesque - Choreographer, Denise Faye / Co-Choreographer, Joe Pizzi
Lord of the Dance 3D - Choreographer, Michael Flatley
Mao's Last Dancer - Choreographers - Graeme Murphy and Janet Vernon
Step It Up 3D - Choreographer, Jamal Sims
The Adjustment Bureau - Choreographer, Benoit-Swan Pouffer

Legendary dancer, choreographer & teacher Jacques D'amboise will receive the 2011 Douglas Watt Lifetime Achievement Award named for the late esteemed drama critic who with Mr. Astaire founded the awards.


Related Articles

From This Author BWW News Desk

Before you go...