Click Here for More Articles on 2012 AWARDS SEASON

CARRIE, SILENCE!, TRIBES, et al. Win 2012 Alliance Awards!


The Off Broadway Alliance, the organization of Off Broadway producers, theaters, general managers, press agents and marketing firms, has announced the winners of the 2nd Annual Off Broadway Alliance Awards, honoring commercial and not-for-profit Off Broadway productions that opened during the 2011-2012 season.

The Off Broadway Alliance is a non-profit corporation organized by theater professionals dedicated to supporting, promoting and encouraging the production of Off Broadway theater and to making live theater increasingly accessible to new and diverse audiences. Among its initiatives, The Off Broadway Alliance founded and sponsors 20at20, the biannual event that offers $20 tickets to dozens of Off Broadway shows twenty minutes before curtain. It produces a free Seminar Series focusing on the culture, business and history of Off Broadway featuring major players from the Off Broadway scene. The Alliance compiles the annual Off Broadway Economic Impact Report, which documents Off Broadway's over $500 million annual impact on the economy of the City of New York.

Last year’s Off Broadway Alliance winners for Best New Play (Freud’s Last Session) and Best New Musical (NEWSical the Musical) are still running strong Off-Broadway.

2012 Off Broadway Alliance Awards
Nominee List with Winners Denoted in Bold

Best New Musical
The Blue Flower
Queen of the Mist
SILENCE! The Musical
Sistas: The Musical

Best New Play
4000 Miles
Milk Like Sugar
Sons of the Prophet
Unnatural Acts

Best Musical Revival

Best Play Revival
Beyond the Horizon
The Cherry Orchard
The Lady From Dubuque
A Moon for the Misbegotten

Best Special Event
The Devil’s Music: The Life and Blues of Bessie Smith
An Iliad
The Patsy

Best Family Show
Alice in Wonderland
The Amazing Max and the Box of Interesting Things
The Berenstain Bears LIVE!
The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe
The Ohmies
StinkyKids, the Musical

Legend of Off Broadway Honorees
Edward Albee
Gerard Alessandrini
Kathleen Chalfant
Catherine Russell
Mary Louise Wilson

Off Broadway Alliance Hall of Fame Honorees
Howard Kissel
Theodore Mann

The 2012 Off Broadway Alliance Awards will be presented on Tuesday, June 19th at 4:30 PM at Sardi’s.

For more information, visit www.offbroadwayalliance.com.

Related Articles

From This Author BWW News Desk

Before you go...