Skip to main content Skip to footer site map
Click Here for More Articles on BROADWAY REWIND

Broadway Rewind: AFTER MIDNIGHT Brings Jazz to Broadway in 2014

Article Pixel

As Broadway remains dark, BroadwayWorld wants to make sure that you still get your theatre fix each and every day until it's back. In our daily series Broadway Rewind, we're uncovering footage from the depths of our archives so that you can relive magical moments of Broadway past!

Today we rewind to 2014 to take a closer look at After Midnight, which at the time featured special guest star Vanessa Williams. After Midnight, directed and choreographed by Warren Carlyle, played for 273 performances at the Brooks Atkinson Theatre. The revue is based on Cotton Club Parade, which ran in concert at Encores! in 2011 and 2012. The revue takes place "after midnight" in New York's Harlem. It features jazz pieces by Duke Ellington, Jimmy McHugh, Dorothy Fields and Harold Arlen, framed by the poetry of Langston Hughes. The show features an orchestra of 17 musicians, 25 vocalists, dancers and performers.

Watch numbers from the show below!

Related Articles
Vote Now for the Best of the Decade Awards

From This Author BroadwayWorld TV