At Last! AMAZING GRACE Cast Album Will Arrive on 2/26

DMI Soundtracks announced today that the Broadway cast album of Amazing Grace will be released on February 26; with digital download pre-orders available on February 12. Amazing Grace will be available to purchase on all digital download and streaming services, as well as in-store. The recording was co-produced and engineered by six-time Grammy Award winner Frank Filipetti and co-produced and arranged by Joseph Church.

Amazing Grace is a new original musical based on the awe-inspiring true story behind the world's most beloved song. A captivating tale of romance, rebellion and redemption, this radiant production follows one man whose incredible journey ignited a historic wave of change.

John Newton (Tony Award nominee Josh Young), a willful and musically talented young Englishman,faces a future as uncertain as the turning tide. Coming of age as Britain sits atop an international empire of slavery, he finds himself torn between following in the footsteps of his father - a slave trader - or embracing the more compassionate views of his childhood sweetheart (Erin Mackey). Accompanied by his slave, Thomas (Tony Award winner Chuck Cooper), John embarks on a perilous voyage on the high seas. When that journey finds John in his darkest hour, a transformative moment of self-reckoning inspires a blazing anthem of hope that will finally guide him home.

Brimming with emotion and adventure, Amazing Grace is an unforgettable musical saga that captures the spirit of history's sweetest and most powerful sound: freedom.

Amazing Grace played its final performance on Broadway on Sunday, October 25 at theNederlander Theatre (208 West 41st Street).

Six-time Grammy winner Frank Filipetti is a lauded producer, engineer and mixer. He began his career working on a string of projects with Foreigner, KISS, James Taylor, Carly Simon, The Bangles and 10,000 Maniacs, and continues working with a variety of artists including Barbra Streisand, Andrea Bocelli, Ray Charles, Billy Joel, Mariah Carey, Madonna, Elton John, Rod Stewart and Paul McCartney, to name a few. He received his 21st Grammy Award nomination for producing and mixing the Broadway cast recording for Aladdin. His other Broadway credits include recording and mixing the albums for Bullets Over Broadway, A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Forum with Nathan Lane, 9 to 5, Priscilla, Queen of the Desert and Grammy Award-winners Passion, Annie Get Your Gun, Spamalot, Wicked and The Book of Mormon, as well as producing albums for Gigi, Aida, Newsies and Motown the Musical.

A national tour of the production is currently being booked by Columbia Artists and will be produced by Troika Entertainment. Additional details on the tour will be announced at a later date.

Amazing Grace features music and lyrics by Christopher Smith and a book by Christopher Smith and Arthur Giron, directed by Gabriel Barre (Andrew Lippa's The Wild Party) and choreographed by Tony Award winner Christopher Gattelli (Newsies).

The cast album of Amazing Grace features Tony Award nominee Josh Young, Erin Mackey, Tony Award winner Chuck Cooper, Tony Award nominee Tom Hewitt, Chris Hoch, StanleyBahorek, Harriett D. Foy, Laiona Michelle, Rachael Ferrera and Elizabeth Ward Land.

The ensemble features Leslie Becker, Sara Brophy, Rheaume Crenshaw, Miquel Edson, MikeEvariste, Sean Ewing, Savannah Frazier, Christopher Gurr, Allen Kendall, Michael Dean Morgan, Vince Oddo, Oneika Phillips, Clifton Samuels, Gavriel Savit, Dan Sharkey, BretShuford, Evan Alexander Smith, Uyoata Udi, Charles E. Wallace, Toni Elizabeth White, Hollie E. Wright.

The creative team included Eugene Lee and Edward Pierce (scenic design), Toni-Leslie James (costume design), Ken Billington and Paul Miller (lighting design), Jon Weston (sound design), Robert -Charles Vallance (hair design), David Leong (fight and military movement), Gillian Lane-Plescia (dialect coach), Kenny Seymour (orchestrations), Michael Keller (music coordinator), Joseph Church (music director, arranger, incidental music), and McCorkle Casting LTD (casting).

Amazing Grace is produced by Carolyn Rossi Copeland and Alexander Rankin.

The track list for the digital album and CD is as follows:

Track List:

1. Prologue

2. Truly Alive

3. The Slave Auction

4. Someone Who Hears

5. Yema's Song

6. Voices Of The Angels

7. We Are Determined

8. Never

9. Shadows Of Innocence

10. Expectations

11. Battle At Sea

12. Welcome Song

13. Sing On High

14. Tell Me Why

15. A Chance For Me

16. Nowhere Left To Run

17. Daybreak

18. I Still Believe

19. Testimony

20. I Will Remember

21. Nothing There To Love

22. Amazing Grace

Founded in 1997 by CEO and Chief Creative Officer Tena Clark, DMI Music & Media develops and executes comprehensive music branding strategies and programs using the emotional power of music to connect brands to consumers. The company is headquartered in Pasadena, CA, with offices in Atlanta and San Francisco. DMI Music & Media's unique solutions and creative executions create campaigns for global brands that break through to today's media-savvy consumers.

Related Articles

More Hot Stories For You

Before you go...

Like Us On Facebook
Follow Us On Twitter
Follow Us On Instagram instagram