Arnaz, Price, Etc. Present at Theatre World Awards, 6/6

The 62nd annual Theatre World Awards for Outstanding Broadway and Off-Broadway Debut Performances will be presented on Tuesday, June 6, 2006 at 2:00pm in an award ceremony at Studio 54, 254 W. 54th St. The awards ceremony, which is by invitation only, will be written and hosted by Peter Filichia. Walter Willison (Two by Two, 1971) is director; Ben Hodges and Kati Meister are co-executive producers.

Twelve awards will be presented by former award winners, including Lucie Arnaz (They're Playing Our Song, 1979), Maxwell Caulfield (Class Enemy, 1980), Harry Groener (revival, Oklahoma!, 1977), Ken Page (revival, Guys and Dolls, 1977), John Rubinstein (Pippin, 1973), and Jonathan Pryce (Comedians, 1977). Several presenters will perform songs they introduced from the shows for which they received their award, including John Rubinstein ("Corner of the Sky" from Pippin) and Ken Page ("Sit Down, You're Rockin' the Boat" from Guys and Dolls).

The winners will be announced on Monday, May 15. Winners will be posted on the Theatre World Awards Website (

The Theatre World Awards are the oldest awards given for Broadway and Off-Broadway debut performances, as well as one of the oldest awards bestowed on New York actors.

Winners are chosen by the Theatre World Awards committee, comprised of Peter Filichia (, Harry Haun (Playbill), Matthew Murray (, Frank Scheck (New York Post), Michael Sommers (Newhouse Papers), Doug Watt (Critic Emeritus, New York Daily News) and Linda Winer (Newsday), and coordinated by Peter Filichia.

The publication Theatre World is the oldest pictorial and statistical record of the American theatre, including Broadway, Off-Broadway, and regional theatre companies. Theatre World Volume 60: 2003-04 was released on May 2 by Applause Theatre and Cinema Books, and Theatre World Volume 61: 2004-05 will be released in November 2006 also by Applause. For more information, please visit or the Theatre World website.

Theatre World founder John Willis has been the editor-in-chief of both Theatre World and its companion volume Screen World for over forty years. On behalf of Theatre World, Willis has received a Special Tony Honor for Excellence in the Theatre, as well as awards for lifetime achievement from Drama Desk, Lucille Lortel, and the Broadway Theater Institute. He is now joined by associate editor Ben Hodges in the compilation of the publication of Theatre World.

For further information, visit

Related Articles

More Hot Stories For You