Actors' Equity Foundation Awards St. Clair Bayfield Award to Mia Katigbak

Actors' Equity Foundation Awards St. Clair Bayfield Award to Mia Katigbak

Mia Katigbak has received the annual St. Clair Bayfield Award presented by the Actors' Equity Foundation for her performance as The Duke of Gloucester in NAATCO's production of Henry VI. The announcement was made by Judy Rice, President of the Foundation, and Joan Glazer, Managing Director.

The award will be presented at Actors' Equity Association's Eastern Regional Membership Meeting at 2 pm on Monday January 28, 2019 at the Equity offices, 165 West 46th Street, New York City.

Katigbak is co-founder and artistic producing director of the National Asian American Theater Company (NAATCO) where she has made it her mission to send Asian-American actors wherever the theatrical canon may lead, from "Our Town" to "Othello" to "Antigone."

She is the recipient of an Obie Award for performance (2014), the 2012-13 Lucille Lortel and the 2008 Lee Reynolds Awards (League of Professional Theatre Women); the Actors Equity's Rosetta LeNoire Award, in recognition of her "artistic contribution to the universality of the human experience in the American theater"; New Dramatists' Charles Bowden Actor Award; Distinguished Award for Artistic Excellence from Ma-Yi Theater.

Established in 1973 in memory of Equity member St. Clair Bayfield, the award honors the best performance in a supporting role by an Actor in a Shakespearean play in the New York City metropolitan area. The recipient receives a $1,000 check and an engraved crystal plaque.

The Judges for the Bayfield Award are: Joe Dziemianowicz, Adam Feldman, Time Out New York; Susan Haskins, Theater Talk; Harry Haun, The Observer, and David Rosenberg, Hearst Media.

Previous recipients of the St. Clair Bayfield Award include: Carmen DeLavalade, Dana Ivey, Charles Kimbrough, Nathan Lane, Brian Murray, Bradley Whitford, and, in 2017, Peter Friedman.

The Actors Equity Foundation is a philanthropic and humanitarian nonprofit organization created in 1962 to aid and assist members of the acting profession and to promote the theatre arts. It is separate from Actors Equity Association and is funded by estate bequests and individual donations.

Related Articles

More Hot Stories For You

Before you go...

Like Us On Facebook
Follow Us On Twitter
Follow Us On Instagram