Click Here for More Articles on BC/EFA

2006 MAC Award Nominees Announced

The 2006 MAC AWARDS will be presented on MONDAY, APRIL 17 AT at the TribecaPerformingArtsCenter at BMCC,

199 Chambers Street
. Hosted by Lee Roy Reams, the 20th annual MAC Awards will include appearances by Phoebe Snow, Ben Taylor, Karen Mason, Carol Hall and Rocky Carroll among others.

Female Vocalist
Lisa Asher
JeAnne MacDonald
Heather Sullivan
Diana Templeton
Lumiri Tubo


Male Vocalist
Colm Reilly
Craig Rubano
Marcus Simeone


New York Debut - Female
Suzanne Fiore
Terese Genecco
Rosalyn McClore
Alisa Schiff


New York Debut - Male
Jasper Kump
Matt Sigl
Evan Stern


Major Engagement
Barbara Brussell
Karen Mason
Sharon McNight

Cabaret Comedy / Musical Comedy
The Farley Brothers
Kate Pazakis
Adrianne Tolsch
Nancy Witter


Tommy Femia (Judy Garland)
Jimmy James (various divas)
Rick Skye (Liza Minnelli)

Variety Production/Recurring Series
Cabaret Cares (BC/EFA benefit series and gala)
Julie Gold (Fridays at the 'Plex)
Mostly Sondheim (hosted by Brandon Cutrell)


"A Marvelous Party" for Noel Coward
Mercer at the Movies
We Miss Nancy: The Storefront Sings LaMott


Special Production / Vocal Duo or Group
Eric Comstock & Barbara Fasano: Autumn Leaves
Sue Matsuki and Gregory Toroian: 10 Years in the Making
Jane Scheckter and Adam James: Let's Du-et!


Piano Bar/Restaurant Singing Entertainer
Leslie Anderson
Colm Reilly
Terri White


Piano Bar/Restaurant/Hotel Lounge Instrumentalist
Ricky Ritzel
Jerry Scott
Tracy Stark


Collette Black
Phil Geoffrey Bond
Ron Poole


Technical Director
MichaeL Barbieri
Thomas Honeck
Shane Mathews


Musical Director
Rick Jensen
Lanny Meyers
Ricky Ritzel


Ev'ry Breath And Thought - music by Henry Krieger, lyrics by Bill Russell
Hamlet Lost - music by Ted Kooshian, lyrics by Judy Barnett
The Party Upstairs - music by Ronny Whyte, lyrics by Francesca Blumenthal
Sing You To Sleep - music and lyrics by Steven Lutvak
Warm As Winter - music and lyrics by Nicholas Levin


Special Musical Material
Dumped - music and lyrics by Ritt Henn
I Think About Sex - music and lyrics by Ray Jessel
Wipe That Egg Off Your Face - music by Henry Krieger, lyrics by Bill Russell


KLea Blackhurst… Autumn In New York: Vernon Duke's Broadway
Barbara Brussell… Lerner In Love
Jeff Harnar… Dancing In The Dark
Lee Lessack… In Good Company
Karen Mason… Sweetest Of Nights


Jazz Recording
Bill Charlap… Plays George Gershwin: The American Soul
Dave Douglas… Keystone
Charles Hayden & The Music Liberation Orchestra… Not In Our Name
Joe Lovano… Joyous Ensemble
Sonny Rollins… Without A Song: The 911 Concert


Jazz Pianist
Benny Green
Fred Hersch
Mike LeDonne
Eric Reed
Renee Rosnes


Jazz Instrumentalist
Anat Cohen
Joel Frahm
WyCliff Gordon
Ingrid Jensen
Ted Nash


Jazz Duo/Group
Bill Charlap Trio
The Frank & Joe Show
David Ostwald & The Gully Low Band
Charles Tolliver Orchestra
Ray Baretto Sextet

Female Jazz Vocalist
Karrin Allyson
Carolyn Leonhart
Carmen Lundy
Kate McGary
Kendra Shank


Male Jazz Vocalist
Andy Bey
Freddy Cole
Kurt Elling
Allan Harris
Sachal Vasandani


Male Stand-Up Comic
to be announced shortly


Female Stand-Up Comic
to be announced shortly


Comedy/Improv Duo/Group
to be announced shortly


Lifetime Achievements Awards will be presented to Donald Smith, founder of the Mabel Mercer Foundation and producer of the well-known Cabaret Convention Series around the country and abroad, and to jazz legend Sheila Jordan.


Phoebe Snow will receive a Board of Directors Award for her outstanding career.

Related Articles

More Hot Stories For You

Before you go...

Like Us On Facebook
Follow Us On Twitter
Follow Us On Instagram instagram