Double Dog Theatre to Present REEFER MADNESS, 7/18-8/10

‚Äč
Double Dog Theatre to Present REEFER MADNESS, 7/18-8/10This summer, the newly formed professional theatre company, Double Dog Theatre, will welcome patrons to their first production, the anti-marijuana spoof, Reefer Madness, The Musical. This co-production with the Little Theatre of Norfolk is inspired by the original 1936 anti-marijuana propaganda film, this raucous musical comedy takes a tongue-in-cheek look at the hysteria caused when clean-cut kids fall prey to marijuana, leading them on a bizarre downward spiral filled with evil jazz music, sex and violence. You won't be able to resist the drug-fueled fun of Reefer Madness. The addictive and clever musical numbers range from big Broadway-style showstoppers such as 'The Orgy' to swing tunes like 'Down at the Ol' Five and Dime' and the Vegas-style 'Listen to Jesus, Jimmy,' featuring J.C. Himself leading a chorus of showgirl angels. This dynamic show will go straight to your head! Reefer Madness is a highly stylized and satirical political commentary and hilarious musical that will be the "high" point of the summer.

The musical, which features lyrics by Kevin Murphy, music by Dan Studney and book by Murphy and Studney, opened in Los Angeles in 1998 and premiered Off-Broadway in 2001. This award-winning musical has taken the world by storm and achieved a cult status in the vein of Rocky Horror and Hedwig and the Angry Inch. The show was adapted into a successful award-winning Sundance film. which premiered in 2005 and featured Kristen Bell, Christian Campbell, Ana Gasteyer, Steven Weber, and John Kassir.

Double Dog Theatre's production of Reefer Madness, the Musical will run July 18th through August 10th, 2014 with all performance at the Little Theatre of Norfolk. Friday and Saturday performances at 8:00 pm, Sunday performances at 2:30 pm. Open Seating. All tickets $22. Information at (757) 563-4591 or www.doubledogtheatre.com. Tickets available atwww.reefertickets.com or www.doubledogtheatre.com.

Double Dog Theatre was launched in early 2014 as a small and versatile theatre company passionate about creating enjoyable theatre that has personal, societal, and universal significance. The company is built upon a production-based profit-sharing model, which gives each team member shared ownership of every play that Double Dog produces. This model is designed to empower each theatre artist involved with a Double Dog production. Double Dog Theatre is a for-profit LLC registered in the state of Virginia.

For Reefer Madness, the Musical, Double Dog Theatre is partnering with local businesses such as Elliot's Fairgrounds, Tortilla West and several others to offer special Reefer-themed deals during the run of the production.

More Norfolk!
Go to the Homepage


Comment & Share


About Author

Subscribe to Author Alerts
 
🔀NORFOLK SHOWS
Company in NorfolkCompany
(Runs 9/5 - 9/28)
K2 in NorfolkK2
(Runs 9/13 - 10/12)
The Book Club Play in NorfolkThe Book Club Play
(Runs 10/28 - 11/16)
Lend Me a Tenor in NorfolkLend Me a Tenor
(Runs 10/31 - 11/23)
The Comedy of Errors in NorfolkThe Comedy of Errors
(Runs 7/9 - 11/28)
Macbeth in NorfolkMacbeth
(Runs 6/18 - 11/29)
Cyrano de Bergerac in NorfolkCyrano de Bergerac
(Runs 6/17 - 11/30)

View All | Add Show | Auditions