Phillip Sayce Announces Album Release and Tour

June 8
10:55 2011
Phillip Sayce Announces Album Release and Tour

Monday July 11th sees the release of "Ruby Electric" - Philip Sayce's latest album on Provogue Records. The album showcases previously unreleased studio and live tracks and includes the single "Let The Love In" featuring a duet with Melissa Etheridge.

The album coincides with a short UK tour that will take in dates at the London Borderline (July 25), Bristol Tunnels (July 27), Holmfirth Picturedrome (July 28) and Manchester Band on the Wall (July 29). 24 Hour Ticket Hotline: 0871 230 1101. Book,, (the latter URL for the London gig only).

Ruby Electric is a unique album that features a collection of songs divided into two different volumes. All the songs were recorded with some of Sayce's favourite musicians and friends. The album is currently #2 in Amazon UK's official Blues pre-sale chart.

Volume 1, recorded at Sunset Sound and Lion's Share, Hollywood, was produced by Dave Cobb and mixed by Mark Rains. The songs were recorded live in the studio through a collection of vintage equipment and musical instruments, utilizing Cobb's signature recording and production techniques.

Volume 2, recorded on tour in France, Germany, and Holland in 2010, was mixed by the legendary recording engineer Eddie Kramer (Jimi Hendrix, Rolling Stones, Led Zeppelin) in April 2011.

"I'd been looking for the right circumstances to release all of these songs," says Sayce. "The studio tracks on Volume 1 remained unavailable internationally. We remixed and re-mastered the tracks, picked some alternate takes, and included a live version of Daydream Tonight (the latter originally appeared on Sayce's 2010 album Innerevolution). As soon as we paired the songs up with the recent live recordings from last year's European tour, the album became Ruby Electric.

Ruby Electric features Kenny Aronoff (drums), Joel Gottschalk (bass), Fritz Lewak (drums), and Fred Mandel (piano, organ), and as previously mentioned, Melissa Etheridge signs a duet with Sayce on the first single Let The Love In. The album was produced and recorded by Eddie Kramer, Dave Cobb, and Mark Rains.

Says Sayce - "I hope you feel the passion, joy, excitement and honesty that went into each of these performances, both in the studio and live in concert."

24 Hour Ticket Hotline: 0871 230 1101

Monday 25th July 2011
London Borderline
Box Office: 0844 871 8803
General Admission: £12.50
Book Online:
Doors: 7:00pm
Stage Time: 9:00pm
Address: 16 Manette Street, London, W1D 4AR

Wednesday 27th July 2011
Bristol Tunnels
Box Office: 0117 929 9008, 0845 605 0255
General Admission: £12.50
Book Online:
Doors / Stage Time: 7:30pm / 8:00pm
Address: 2 Bristol and Exeter Mews, Lower Approach Road,
Temple Meads, Bristol, BS1 6QB

Thursday 28th July 2011
** Holmfirth Picturedrome
Special Guest: Joanne Shaw Taylor
Box Office: 0871 230 1101
General Admission: £15.00
Book Online:
Doors: 7:30pm
Stage Time: 8:00pm
Address: Market Walk, Holmfirth, HD 9 7DA

Friday 29th July 2011
Manchester Band on the Wall
Box Office: 0161 832 1111
General Admission: £12.50
Book Online:
Doors: 7:30pm
Stage Time: 9:00pm
Address: Swann Street, Manchester, M4 5JZ


Philip Sayce - Official Biography
Philip Sayce was born in Aberystwyth, Wales, and grew up in Toronto, Canada, where his family moved to when he was two years old. He grew up in a musical household and was exposed to his parents' eclectic record collection that included Eric Clapton, Ry Cooder and Dire Straits. When his parents took him to an Eric Clapton concert, he was awestruck. He was instantly drawn to the guitar.


Become a Fan, Follower & Subscriber

           Facebook Like Follow