PAUL VAN DYK Releases Vonic Sessions 2013 Today

In 52 weeks and 52 radio shows transmitted around the world on 60 + leading stations PAUL VAN DYK brought over 600 tracks to the ears of VONYC SESSIONS ever-ready listenership in 2013. That, however, was the easy part. The audio artisan's end-of-year challenge was to refine those playlists into the most requested best-of-the-best. From 12 richly packed months of radio tracklists, he's landscaped those tunes into a stellar "the-year-that-was" mix. PvD's definitive 2013 encapsulation on VONYC SESSIONS 2013 is due out today, December 13 on his VANDIT label.

That January to December sonic-ride naturally includes tracks from some of electronic music's best-known practitioners. W&W, Ferry Corsten, Omnia, Cosmic Gate and many others are joined on its discs by newer-bloods, as VONYC SESSIONS 2013 delivers the latest/greatest studio-ware from the likes of Protoculture, Maarten de Jong, Estiva and Las Salinas. After another standout VANDIT year, VONYC SESSIONS 2013 also kisses the speakers with a wealth of the label's audio. Sporting 2013 floor-quakes from Judge Jules, Alex M.O.R.P.H., Giuseppe Ottaviani and Shato & Paul Rockseek, naturally there's also much from the maestro himself. Sit back, hit up that play button and enjoy the 2013 ride all over again.

The first mix heads straight into the thick of it, with the tech eclecticism of Genix & Las Salinas' "Say Another What." From there VAN DYK reaches multiple points on the stylistic compass, building sonic mood and range into the mix's map with tracks like the deep-dive of "Immersion" from Omnia and Alexander Popov's autumnal "Moscow Subway," which splice in deliciously moody prog-trance shades.

Sweeping up the midsection comes Alex M.O.R.P.H. & Jerome Isma Ae's propellant "Bang," hotly chased by his new VANDIT slam-dunk "Magnum." Through the infectious, intense frequencies of W&W/Ummet Ozcan co-production "The Code" and the vocal enigma of Nick The Kid & The Nameless Girl's "Bright Light," VONYC SESSIONS revisits the spring. Delivering the mix its conclusion, Paul invokes the atmospheric aura of his own "Lost In Berlin" and the self-propelled drum drama of Simon Patterson's "The One."

"Compiling the annual VONYC Sessions album is one of the most demanding, yet fulfilling tasks I do in a year," says VAN DYK. "Selecting the best of the best from your most requested tracks in any 12-month period, especially one as alive with good music as 2013, is always a challenge. The perspective it brings to the end of each year, though, is the reward. With the release of this VONYC SESSIONS, collectively I feel we've brought a picture-perfect representation of the year. Hopefully it's one you'll return and listen to many times in the future and remember this great year that was!"

Disc two opens in inspired mash-up mode, fusing Ferry Corsten's latest "Diss" with the emotional sear of PvD & Plumb's "I Don't Deserve You." "Open My Eyes" makes it a VAN DYK double and again opens the mix's themes up wide. In quick succession the wistful trance of Protoculture's "Talisman," Heatbeat & Chris Schweizer's tech-elec threat "Nasty" and Estiva's rapacious "Dino Drums" all take their turn to hold sway.

VONYC's mercury continues to rise with the introduction of some pure form trance courtesy of Giuseppe Ottaviani's "Earthbeat" and Matt Davey's much-spun spin on the classic "Greece 2000." The Christian Burns/PvD team-up "We Are Tonight" and the big-room bombast of "Super Dad" (the latest from Richard Durand) keep both tempo and tone spiked. Its final minutes bring the climactic audio combustion of Shato & Paul Rockseek's early summer club-crusher "Deer Friends," Maarten De Jong's fierce "Face The World" and Cosmic Gate crowd-rousing/rocking "So Get Up."

You can pre-order VONYC SESSIONS 2013 here:

Catch PAUL VAN DYK on tour:






Los Angeles,, CA

Avalon Nightclub



Houston, TX

Stereo Live



San Francisco, CA

1015 Folsom



Chicago, IL




Miami, FL

Club Space

The track listing for VONYC SESSIONS 2013 CD 1 is:

1. Genix & Las Salinas - Say Another What
2. Omnia - Immersion
3. Alexander Popov - Moscow Subway
4. Mark Sixma - Requiem
5. W&W & Ummet Ozcan - The Code
6. Max Graham - The Evil ID
7. Alex M.O.R.P.H. & Jerome Isma-Ae - Bang!
8. Judge Jules feat. Christina Novelli - Collide (Solis & Sean Truby Remix)
9. Las Salinas & Elad Efrati - Nothing Lasts
10. Las Salinas - Chipsy Kings
11. Nick The Kid presents The Nameless Girl - Bright Light (Digital Self & Tek-Tonic Mix)
12. Judge Jules - Fiber
13. Alex M.O.R.P.H. presents Corti Organ - Magnum
14. Tristan D & Tangle presents Nu-State - Vertigo
15. Judge Jules - Phenomenology
16. SHato & Paul Rockseek - The Hunt
17. Paul van Dyk feat. Michelle Leonard - Lost In Berlin (Giuseppe Ottaviani Remix)
18. Ben Nicky & James Dymond - Refresh
19. Simon Patterson feat. Lucy Pullin - The One

The track listing for VONYC SESSIONS 2013 CD 2 is:

1. Ferry Corsten - Diss!
2. Paul van Dyk feat. Plumb - I Don't Deserve You (Jerome Isma-Ae Remix)
3. Paul van Dyk feat. Kyau & Albert - Open My Eyes (Kyau & Albert Remix)
4. Protoculture - Talisman
5. Andrew Bayer - England
6. Heatbeat & Chris Schweizer - Nasty
7. Maarten de Jong - Wave Glider
8. Estiva - Dinodrums
9. DNS Project - Confront
10. Three Drives - Greece 2000 (Matt J*Davey Remix)
11. Giuseppe Ottaviani - Earthbeat
12. Las Salinas - Bada Bing (Daniel Garrick Remix)
13. Christian Burns & Paul van Dyk - We Are Tonight (Las Salinas Remix)
14. Paul van Dyk feat. Sue McLaren & Arty - The Sun After Heartbreak (Woody van Eyden Remix)
15. Woody van Eyden & Maarten de Jong - It's A Shark! (Maarten de Jong Mix)
16. Richard Durand - Super Dad
17. Maarten de Jong - Face The World
18. SHato & Paul Rockseek - Deer Friends
19. Cosmic Gate - So Get Up
20. Rick Mitchells - Rockin' Steady Paul van Dyk & Arnej

More On: Cosmic Gate, Giuseppe Ottaviani, Ummet Ozcan, Max Graham, Judge Jules, Nothing,

Comment & Share

Subscribe for News & Specials