Walk-on Role in CHICAGO, 'JONESES' & 'BRIDGES' Tickets and More Added to Playwrights Horizons' Annual Online Auction

Walk-on Role in CHICAGO, 'JONESES' & 'BRIDGES' Tickets and More Added to Playwrights Horizons' Annual Online Auction

Acclaimed Off-Broadway theater company Playwrights Horizons (Tim Sanford, Artistic Director; Leslie Marcus, Managing Director) has announced additional top items for the 2014 edition of its popular, annual online auction. Bidding for the auction, which features an eclectic array of items and unique opportunities continues at www.biddingforgood/playwrightshorizons now through Monday, April 28 at 8PM.

Celebrating its 43rd Anniversary Season, Playwrights Horizons is one of New York's most prized non-profit theater companies. Proceeds from the Auction benefit the company's six annual productions and programs, the development of new work, access to the arts for all and training the next generation of theater managers and artists. A writer's theater dedicated to the support and development of contemporary American playwrights, composers and lyricists, it has presented the work of over 400 writers. It has also been the recipient of numerous awards and honors, now including 6 Pulitzer Prizes, with the just-announced 2014 Pulitzer Prize for Drama being awarded to Annie Baker's The Flick, which had its World Premiere at Playwrights Horizons in March 2013.

The categories for Playwrights Horizons' Online Auction include Celebrity Events, Unique Experiences, Travel Getaways, Memorabilia & Gift Items and Theater Tickets. Some of the many additional top items include a walk-on role in Broadway's Chicago; Jonathan Groff calling you as Kristoff from Frozen; Broadway tickets with meet and greets with cast members including The Realistic Joneses star Marisa Tomei and The Bridges of Madison County star Kelli O'Hara; and unique celebrity experiences with alumni stars Dominic Fumusa, Jessica Hecht and Cristin Milioti. These join previously-announced items including tickets to live tapings of NBCU's "The Voice," "The Tonight Show starring Jimmy Fallon" and "Late Night with Seth Meyers"; Premiere Screening and After Party of AMC's "The Walking Dead" Season 5; Getaways to Palm Springs, Puerto Vallarta, Sun Valley and a Luxury South African Photo Safari for 2; The Happiness Project: New York Times best-selling author Gretchen Rubin lunch for 6; Broadway tickets with VIP backstage tours with cast members including The Book of Mormon star Ben Platt, A Gentleman's Guide to Love and Murder star Jefferson Mays and Rocky star Margo Seibert; New York Giants Tickets and On-Field Tour; and a "Masters of Sex" set tour.

All interested bidders must go to www.biddingforgood.com/playwrightshorizons to register to bid.

A second Playwrights Horizons' auction will take place at the annual Spring Gala (exclusive to those attending), which will be held Monday evening, May 5th at the event space 583 Park Avenue. Titled "IN THE BEGINNING" and hosted by David Hyde Pierce and Mary Testa, the evening will honor the theater company's Founding Artistic Director Bob Moss. Cocktails and a Silent Auction will begin at 6PM, followed by dinner at 7:30 PM and the evening's entertainment. Ticket prices for the Gala start at $1,000 and can be reserved by calling Michelle Kiefel at (212) 564-1235 extension 3143 or online at www.PHnyc.org.

Currently playing at Playwrights Horizons is the World Premiere of YOUR MOTHER'S COPY OF THE KAMA SUTRA, a new play by Kirk Lynn, directed by Anne Kauffman (now through May 11). Following KAMA SUTRA, the Playwrights Horizons' 2013/2014 Season will conclude with FLY BY NIGHT: A NEW MUSICAL, conceived by Kim Rosenstock, written by Will Connolly, Michael Mitnick and Ms. Rosenstock, directed by Carolyn Cantor (May 16-June 29).

Playwrights Horizons' recently-announced 2014-2015 Season will feature (in Season order): BOOTYCANDY, the New York premiere of a new play written and directed by Robert O'Hara; GRAND CONCOURSE, the World Premiere of a new play by Heidi Schreck, directed by Kip Fagan; POCATELLO, the World Premiere of a new play by Obie and Lortel awards winner Samuel D. Hunter, directed by Davis McCallum; PLACEBO, the World Premiere of a new play by Obie Award winner Melissa James Gibson, directed by Obie Award winner Daniel Aukin; IOWA, the World Premiere of a new musical play by Susan Smith Blackburn Prize Commendation winner (2008) and finalist (2013) Jenny Schwartz, music and lyrics by Todd Almond, directed by two-time Obie Award winner Ken Rus Schmoll; and a new play to be announced by Pulitzer Prize and Tony Award winner Bruce Norris.

Playwrights Horizons is a writer's theater dedicated to the support and development of contemporary American playwrights, composers and lyricists and to the production of their new work. Under the leadership of artistic director Tim Sanford and managing director Leslie Marcus, the theater company continues to encourage the new work of veteran writers while nurturing an emerging generation of theater artists. In its 43 years, Playwrights Horizons has presented the work of more than 400 writers and has received numerous awards and honors, including a special 2008 Drama Desk Award for "ongoing support to generations of theater artists and undiminished commitment to producing new work." Notable productions include six Pulitzer Prize winners - Annie Baker's The Flick (2013 Obie Award, 2013 Susan Smith Blackburn Prize), Bruce Norris's Clybourne Park (2012 Tony Award, Best Play), Doug Wright's I Am My Own Wife (2004 Tony Award, Best Play), Wendy Wasserstein's The Heidi Chronicles (1989 Tony Award, Best Play), Alfred Uhry's Driving Miss Daisy and Stephen Sondheim and James Lapine's Sunday in the Park with George - as well as Ms. Baker's Circle Mirror Transformation (three 2010 Obie Awards including Best New American Play); Anne Washburn's Mr. Burns - A Post-Electric Play, Lisa D'Amour's Detroit (2013 Obie Award, Best New American Play); Samuel D. Hunter's The Whale (2013 Lortel Award, Best Play); Kirsten Greenidge's Milk Like Sugar (2012 Obie Award); Sarah Ruhl's Stage Kiss and Dead Man's Cell Phone; Gina Gionfriddo's Rapture, Blister, Burn; Dan LeFranc's The Big Meal; Amy Herzog's The Great God Pan and After the Revolution; Bathsheba Doran's Kin; Adam Bock's A Small Fire; Edward Albee's Me, Myself & I; Melissa James Gibson's This (2010 Susan Smith Blackburn Prize finalist); Doug Wright, Scott Frankel and Michael Korie's Grey Gardens (three 2007 Tony Awards); Craig Lucas's Prayer For My Enemy and Small Tragedy (2004 Obie Award, Best American Play); Adam Rapp's Kindness; Lynn Nottage's Fabulation (2005 Obie Award for Playwriting); Kenneth Lonergan's Lobby Hero; David Greenspan's She Stoops to Comedy (2003 Obie Award); Kirsten Childs's The Bubbly Black Girl Sheds Her Chameleon Skin (2000 Obie Award); Richard Nelson and Shaun Davey's James Joyce's The Dead (2000 Tony Award, Best Book); Stephen Sondheim and John Weidman's Assassins; William Finn's March of the Falsettos and Falsettoland; Christopher Durang's Betty's Summer Vacation and Sister Mary Ignatius Explains It All For You; Richard Nelson's Goodnight Children Everywhere; Lynn Ahrens and Stephen Flaherty's Once on This Island; Jon Robin Baitz's The Substance of Fire; Scott McPherson's Marvin's Room; A.R. Gurney's Later Life; Adam Guettel and Tina Landau's Floyd Collins; and Jeanine Tesori and Brian Crawley's Violet.

Comment & Share

About Author

Subscribe to Author Alerts