Click Here for More Articles on MARY POPPINS

Mary Poppins Marks 200th Bway Performance May 9

The Broadway hit musical Mary Poppins marks its 200th performance at the New Amsterdam Theatre on Wednesday, May 9th at 8pm.  To celebrate, there will be a cake for the company after the matinee performance.  The musical is the most popular new musical of the 2006-07 for 18 weeks running and the most nominated new musical this year, with 11 Outer Critics Circle nominations, 6 Drama Desk nominations and 3 Drama League nominations.

Mary Poppins, a co-production by Disney and Cameron Mackintosh, opened at the New Amsterdam Theatre on November 16, 2006, and quickly proved to be a hit with audience members and critics alike.

The London production continues its record-setting run as it enters its third year at the Prince Edward Theatre in the West End.

Based on P.L. Travers's cherished stories and the classic 1964 Walt Disney film, the musical features the Academy Award-winning music and lyrics of Richard M. Sherman and Robert B. Sherman.  The stage production has been created, in collaboration with Cameron Mackintosh, by Academy Award-winning screenwriter Julian Fellowes, who has written the book, and the Olivier Award-winning team of George Stiles and Anthony Drewe, who have composed new songs and additional music and lyrics

Olivier Award-winning director Richard Eyre leads the award-winning creative team assembled for Mary Poppins with co-direction and choreography by Tony and Olivier Award winner Matthew Bourne. The show features set and costume design by Tony Awardâ winner Bob Crowley, co-choreography by Olivier Award winner Stephen Mear, lighting design by Howard Harrison, sound design by Steve Canyon Kennedy, orchestrations by William David Brohn, music supervision by David Caddick, and music direction by Brad Haak.

Ashley Brown and Gavin Lee respectively play the roles of Mary Poppins and Bert.  Joining Brown and Lee are Daniel Jenkins (Mr. Banks), Rebecca Luker (Mrs. Banks), Jane Carr (Mrs. Brill), Mark Price (Robertson Ay), Cass Morgan (Bird Woman), Ruth Gottschall (Miss Andrew), and Michael McCarty (Admiral Boom/Bank Chairman). Nicole Bocchi, Kathryn Faughnan, and Devynn Pedell alternate in the role of Jane Banks. Matthew Gumley, Henry Hodges and Jacob Levine alternate in the role of Michael Banks.

The ensemble includes: Eric B. Anthony, Ann Arvia, Pam Bradley, Kristin Carbone, Brian Collier, Nick Corley, Case Dillard, Nicolas Dromard, James Hindman, Suzanne Hylenski, Stephanie Kurtzuba, Brian Letendre, Matt Loehr, Michelle Lookadoo, Tony Mansker, Tyler Maynard, Sean McCourt, Vasthy E. Mompoint, Jesse Nager, Kathleen Nanni, Megan Osterhaus, Janelle Anne Robinson, Rommy Sandhu, Shekitra Starke, Catherine Walker, and Kevin Samual Yee. 

Tickets are available at, the New Amsterdam Theatre Box Office, and all Ticketmaster outlets or by calling Ticketmaster's Disney on Broadway hotline at (212) 307-4747.  Prices range from $25 - $120.  For group sales and information please call (800) 439-9000.


buy tickets

Related Articles

From This Author BWW News Desk

Before you go...