FROM HERE TO ETERNITY to Conclude West End Run on March 29

FROM HERE TO ETERNITY to Conclude West End Run on March 29

Further to previous notices, producers today confirmed that From Here to Eternity will close on 29 March 2014 following a six month run at the Shaftesbury Theatre. From Here to Eternity is adapted from one of the greatest novels of the twentieth century, this gripping tale of illicit love and army life unites the writing talents of Tim Rice (lyrics), Stuart Brayson (music) and Bill Oakes (book). It marks Tim's first new stage musical for over ten years and Stuart's West End début.

This new musical is directed by Tamara Harvey (The Kitchen Sink, Bush Theatre), designed by Soutra Gilmour(Macbeth, Trafalgar Studios) and choreographed by Javier De Frutos (London Road, National Theatre). The stellar creative team also includes lighting designer Bruno Poet (Frankenstein, National Theatre), sound designer Mick Potter (Phantom of the Opera,West End/ worldwide) and orchestrator & musical supervisor David White (LES MISERABLES, West End/ worldwide).

Darius Campbell (Chicago, West End) plays Warden, Siubhan Harrison (Grease, West End) plays Lorene, Robert Lonsdale (Anna Christie, Donmar Warehouse) plays Prewitt, Ryan Sampson (Open Court, Royal Court) plays Maggio and Rebecca Thornhill (South Pacific, UK tour) plays Karen.

The cast also includes Keisha Amponsa Banson, Marc Antolin, Julie Armstrong, James Ballanger, John Brannoch, Abigail Climer, Brian Doherty, Jessica Ellen, Dale Evans, Shimi Goodman, Kirby Hughes, Lauren Ingram, Dean John-Wilson, Joshua Lacey, Carolyn Maitland, Nuno Queimado, Lucinda Shaw, Warren Sollars, David Stoller, Rebecca Sutherland, Laura Tyrer, Adam Vaughan, Lauren Varnham, Stephen Webb, Matthew Wesley, Christine Allado, Martin Marquez and Yiftach Mizrahi.

Published in 1951, From Here to Eternity was James Jones' début novel. It won him the National Book Award for fiction in 1952. It is loosely based on Jones' experiences in the pre-World War II Hawaiian Division's 27th Infantry and the unit in which he served. In 1953 the novel was adapted into a film directed by Fred Zinnemann and produced byBuddy Adler, starring Burt Lancaster, Frank Sinatra, Montgomery Clift, Ernest Borgnine, Deborah Kerr and Donna Reed. The film won 8 Academy Awards out of 13 nominations.

Comment & Share

About Author

Subscribe to Author Alerts