Bob Brader's SPITTING IN THE FACE OF THE DEVIL Plays During NY Int'l Fringe Fest At The Players Loft 8/14-24

Bob Brader's SPITTING IN THE FACE OF THE DEVIL Plays During NY Int'l Fringe Fest At The Players Loft 8/14-24

John Montgomery Theatre Company is proud to present acclaimed New York monologist Bob Brader's SPITTING IN THE FACE OF THE DEVIL as part of the 13th annual New York International Fringe Festival. Six performances will be presented at The Players Loft at The Players Theatre, 115 MacDougal Street in New York City's Greenwich Village from August 14th-24th.

Bob Brader performed SPITTING IN THE FACE OF THE DEVIL in the InaugurAl Woodstock Memoir Festival, which was headlined by the McCourt Brothers - Frank, Alphie and Malachy. SPITTING IN THE FACE OF THE DEVIL was the featured theatrical event of the Festival and a crowd favorite, sold out show. Directed and developed by Suzanne Bachner, SPITTING IN THE FACE OF THE DEVIL previously played for a three month run at The Red Room and to standing room only crowds at The Fletcher Gallery in Woodstock, NY. The show also features technical direction and lighting design by Douglas Shearer.

The sins of the father go on and on from son to son until someone chooses to end them. Little Bobby took a knife and nearly killed his father, the Bob Sr. nobody knew. Now his son reveals what only he knows. SPITTING IN THE FACE OF THE DEVIL, a daring, darkly funny, highly personal, absolutely true solo show in the vein of Spalding Gray and Mike Daisey. The show is about the author's tension-filled relationship with his father, a charismatic and terrifying ex-Marine. Bob Brader, Sr. harbors a huge personal secret about his sexuality that is revealed halfway through the piece; this revelation comes as a shocking surprise not only to the author, but also to the audience, who discovers the details along with him.

SPITTING IN THE FACE OF THE DEVIL is 90 minutes and is performed without an intermission.

Tickets are $15 and can be purchased beginning July 24th online at www.fringenyc.org, by phone at 866.468.7619, or before each performance (cash only) at The Players Loft.

Bob Brader recently made his international debut at the London Fringe Theatre Festival in June with his 2nd monologue, PREPARATION HEX, a hemorrhoid tale and love story, which premiered in last years' FRIGID New York Festival.

John Montgomery Theatre Company (JMTC) is a NYC-based international collective of actors, writers, directors and designers presenting original work with an emphasis on the collaborative process. Founded in London in 1994 by Patrick Hillan, JMTC has produced over 40 productions in New York City, worked with over 100 theater artists, received four OOBR Awards and ran their own space in Chelsea for four years. Their award-winning production of CIRCLE by Suzanne Bachner, directed by Trish Minskoff, ran for five months Off Broadway. Their most recent production, BENNY, another Bachner/Minskoff collaboration, will debut at The Midtown InterNational Theatre Festival July 16 - August 1st. With writer/performer Bob Brader's absolutely everything is true monologues, and playwright/director Suzanne Bachner's more recent memoir-esque playwriting, the John Montgomery Theatre Company's focus is on more "authentic" storytelling.


Related Articles

From This Author BWW News Desk

Before you go...