Click Here for More Articles on ONCE ON BROADWAY...

Arthur Darvill Departs Broadway's ONCE Today

Arthur Darvill plays his final performance in Broadway's ONCE today, Sunday, December 15. The cast of the Tony and Grammy Award-winning Best musical Once welcomes Paul Nolan to the role of 'Guy' beginning Tuesday, December 17.

Paul Nolan returns to Broadway having last been seen as Jesus in the 2012 revival of Jesus Christ Superstar.

He originated that role at The Stratford Festival of Canada where he was also seen as Cousin Kevin in The Who¹s Tommy, Tony in West Side Story, Orlando in As You Like It and Al Joad in The Grapes Of Wrath. Last year San Diego audiences saw him as Ben Nickel in the World Premiere of Yoshimi Battles The Pink Robots at the La Jolla Playhouse conceived and directed by Des McAnuff andWayne Coyne of the Flaming Lips. Also in the United States he was Radames in Aida at Kansas City Starlight. TV/Film: Will, Something¹s Coming (BravoFACT), Alex ("Shapeshifter") and Schumacher ("Strike!").

ONCE is based on the 2007 Academy Award-winning film and plays on Broadway at the Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre (242 West 45th Street). The production opened to rave reviews on Sunday, March 18, 2012.

ONCE won eight Tony Awards including Best Musical. The production was also named Best Musical by the New York Drama Critics Circle, Drama Desk, Drama League, Outer Critic Circle and Lucille Lortel Awards.

ONCE is the winner of the 2013 Grammy Award for Best Musical Theater Album.

ONCE features a book by award-winning Irish playwright & screenwriter, Enda Walsh (Penelope, Hunger, The New Electric Ballroom), the Academy Award-winning music and lyrics of Glen Hansard and Markéta Irglová, direction by the acclaimed John Tiffany (Black Watch),movement by Steven Hoggett (Black Watch, American Idiot) and music supervision and orchestrations by Martin Lowe (Mamma Mia!).

The cast of Once features Joanna Christie as 'Girl.' Also in the company are Adam Wesley Brown, Laurel Griggs, David PatRick Kelly, Jillian Lebling, Katrina Lenk, Brandon McGibbon, Anne L. Nathan, Andy Taylor, Carlos Valdes, Erikka Walsh, Paul Whitty, and J. Michael Zygo.

Related Articles

Comment & Share

About Author

Subscribe to Author Alerts