Skip to main content Skip to footer site map

Photo Flash: On the Red Carpet at the 2018 Evening Standard Awards


The winners of the 2018 Evening Standard Theatre Awards were revealed at a ceremony tonight at London's Theatre Royal, Drury Lane.

Go on the red carpet at the ceremony in the photos below!

A radical revision of Stephen Sondheim's and George Furth's Company won Marianne Elliott the Milton Shulman Award for Best Director. She switched the gender of the leading man to a woman, giving Rosalie Craig the role of a lifetime and the Evening Standard Award for Best Musical Performance.

The West End's other unstoppable musical, Hamilton, also won two awards. Lin-Manuel Miranda's hip-hop history, which opened last December, was named Best Musical. Its London star Jamael Westman was presented the Award for Emerging Talent.

This year's Lebedev Award went to Sir Cameron Mackintosh, a co-producer of Hamilton and owner of its London home, the Victoria Palace Theatre, for his contribution over 50 years to musical theatre.

Nine Night, a tragi-comedy about a family gathering on the final night of the traditionally Caribbean mourning period, earned first-time writer Natasha Gordon the Charles Wintour Award for Most Promising Playwright. The award comes with a generous donation made by Dame Anna Wintour, American Vogue editor-in-chief and Artistic Director of Condé Nast. As an actress Gordon, 42, has had roles in previous Evening Standard Award winners, Red Velvet and Clubland, and her TV work includes Law and Order and EastEnders. She will take over the starring role in Nine Night when it transfers to Trafalgar Studios next month.

The annual awards, marking the 64th year, were hosted by the Evening Standard owner, Evgeny Lebedev, with co-hosts Dame Anna Wintour, Claire Foy and Idris Elba. Fleabag and Killing Eve writer and actress Phoebe Waller-Bridge returned for the second year to present the ceremony.

The individual awards were presented by Idris Elba, Claire Foy, Andrew Garfield, Richard Madden, Stella McCartney, Jenna Coleman, Letitia Wright and Paapa Essiedu, Patti LuPone and Bee Carrozzini.

Click here for a full list of winners!

Photo Credit: Dave Benett

Related Articles View More UK / West End Stories

Featured on Stage Door

Shoutouts, Classes & More

More Hot Stories For You