Skip to main content Skip to footer site map

Critics' Circle Award-Winners include 'Hairspray' & Patrick Stewart

The Critics' Circle Theatre Awards 2007 were hosted today by its Chairman Charles Spencer, theatre critic of The Daily Telegraph, at the Prince of Wales Theatre, London. For the third year, the awards were presented in association with Nyman Libson Paul Chartered Accountants, leading entertainment industry specialists, and supported by Delfont Mackintosh Theatres and

As ever, the ceremony was an informal gathering of award recipients, the drama critics, theatre practitioners, and the media, convivially coming together to celebrate the critics' personal choice of the best in theatre, from throughout the UK, during the last calendar year. In contrast with other theatre awards during this jam-packed trophy season, the Critics' Circle Theatre Award winners are always decided by the independent votes of Drama Section members, with no panel discussion or public/industry influence exerted.

To follow is a list of the award winners and presenters:


Best New Play
A Disappearing Number
by Simon McBurney and Complicite
(Plymouth Theatre Royal, Warwick Arts Centre, European tour & the Barbican Theatre, London)
Award presented by Benedict Nightingale (The Times) to Judith Dimant

The Peter Hepple Award for Best Musical (new or revival)
Award presented by Paul Taylor (The Independent) to Jerry Mitchell (choreographer) and LeAnne Jones

Best Actor
Charles Dance in Shadowlands
(pre-London tour, then Wyndhams Theatre, London followed by transfer to Novello Theatre, London)
Award presented by Georgina Brown (Mail on Sunday) to Charles Dance

Best Actress
Anne-Marie Duff in Saint Joan
(National Theatre, London)
Award presented by Nicholas de Jongh (Evening Standard) to Anne-Marie Duff

The John and Wendy Trewin Award for Best Shakespearean Performance (tie)
Chiwetel Ejiofor in Othello
(Donmar Warehouse, London)
Award presented by John Peter (The Sunday Times) to Chiwetel Ejiofor

Patrick Stewart in Macbeth
(Minerva Theatre, Chichester, followed by transfer to Gielgud Theatre, London)
Award presented by Jane Edwardes (Time Out) to Patrick Stewart

Best Director
Rupert Goold for Macbeth
(Minerva Theatre, Chichester followed by transfer to Gielgud Theatre, London)
Award presented by Michael Billington (The Guardian) to Rupert Goold

Best Designer
Rae Smith and Handspring Puppet Company for War Horse
(National Theatre, London)
Award presented by Dominic Cavendish (Daily Telegraph) to Tom Morris, Associate Director, National Theatre

Most Promising Playwright
Polly Stenham for That Face
(Royal Court Jerwood Theatre Upstairs, London)
Award presented by Claire Allfree (Metro) to Polly Stenham

The Jack Tinker Award for Most Promising Newcomer (other than a playwright)
LeAnne Jones in Hairspray
(Shaftesbury Theatre, London)
Award presented by Ian Shuttleworth (FT & Theatre Record) to LeAnne Jones

Patrick Stewart in Macbeth

Related Articles

More Hot Stories For You