Toronto Independent Music Awards Held 7/23

By: Jul. 23, 2010
Get Access To Every Broadway Story

Unlock access to every one of the hundreds of articles published daily on BroadwayWorld by logging in with one click.

Existing user? Just click login.

The 5th Toronto Independent Music Awards will be held July 23 at the Phoenix Concert Theatre on 410 Sherbourne Street. The Awards serve as a platform to award up-and-coming independent artists from the province of Ontario and to expose them to international opportunities.

D'Anise and Sean Ward will host the show. The doors open at 7:00 pm with the show starting at 7:30 pm. There will be crowd giveaways as well as $60,000 in prizes. Tickets are $10 in advance and $15 at the door. Tickets can be purchased at There will be More information can be found at

Performers, which are mostly all previous year's winners, include Ripple Rhythm, Marinda, Mike Celia, Lori Nuic, JD ERA, Shobha, Jumple, The Brilliancy formerly known as Corporate Saturday, and All The Trendy Kids formerly known as The Stiff Wires. The 2010 winners of BEST LIVE for Electrice, Acoustic, and Urban will also performance.


Best Female-Fronted:
Amber Long
Amy Towers
Shawnee Lynn Talbot
Prita Chhabra

Best Adult Contemporary:
Lucas Hunter
Michael Hughes
Elyssa Mahoney & Lucas Haneman
Rehan Dalal
Mikey Bustos

Best Jazz:
The Bill McBirnie Duo/Quartet
Brownman Electryc Trio
Rhonda Silver
Jen Sagar
Steve Koven Trio

Best Rap:
Kae Sun
Peter Jackson

Best Urban:
Dana Jean Phoenix
God Made Me Funky
Alexandra Kane
Michelle Mondesir

Best Metal:
Blind Race
Man the Destroyer
Ill of Day

Best Acoustic:
Alistair Blaik Bundale
Kate Reid
Morgan Sadler
Layah Jane

Best Folk:
Beth Moore
Sarah Hiltz
Carly and Mark
The Tree Streets

Best Country:
Shelly Rastin
Tonya Kennedy
Urban Preacher
The River Junction Band
Shari Lynn

Best International, Best USA & Best Out-Of-Province:
The White Ravens
Smile Smile
Timothy Campbell II
Soul Whyte

Best Young Songwriter(s):
Medicine Dog
TJ Whitelaw
Tomorrow Depends
Avoiding the Afterlife

Best World Music:
Vandana Vishwas
Njacko Backo & Kalimba Kalimba
LENTIC: the new project by EMBER SWIFT

Best Punk:
The Away Game
Saving Fiction
Cut Throat Kids
No Right Turns

Best Pop:
Joel Geleynse
Miss Mercury
Amy Towers
Darrelle London

Best Indie Rock:
Night Flowers
The Strange
The Sound Technicians
The Scarlet Fever

BEST LIVE - Urban:
Richh Kidd
Triple D
Scorcese & Ceaza Leon

Best Alternative Rock:
Everyone's Talking
Basia Lyjak
The Joys
Prodigal Suns

Best Song:
Amber Long - "Blinding Epiphany"
Morgan Sadler - "Go On"
Amy Towers - "Secret Love"
Beth Moore - "The Road"
Darellle London - "Understand"

*** BEST LIVE - Electric and BEST LIVE - Acoustic will be announced after the last FINALE BEST LIVE competition on Wed. July 7th, 2010***


To post a comment, you must register and login.