Theatre 20 Announces 2011 Three-Concert Series


Theatre 20, a new musical theatre company in Toronto, today announced an exciting three-concert series for 2011, to be held at the Panasonic Theatre.

Theatre 20 is an artist-led, story-driven company with a focus on developing and presenting original Canadian musicals as well as re-imagining existing repertoire from both the national and international canons. It is a not-for-profit, registered charitable organization that has been formed not only to create musical works for the stage but also to play an active and positive role within the community. It aims to nurture the talent of writers and composers and foster the development of young artists through mentorship and education programs.

With a mandate rooted in the creation, education and celebration of musical theatre, Theatre 20 hopes to shine a light on the incredibly talented musical theatre artists of this country: performers, composers, directors, choreographers, musical directors and designers.

Theatre 20's 2011 Concert Series reflects this three-part mandate of musical theatre celebration, education and development.

Theatre 20 presents:

THE STORY BEGINS: Celebrating songs from story-driven musicals
May 9, 2011 at 8 p.m., Panasonic Theatre
Join Theatre 20 as it celebrates inspiring, insightful and entertaining music from the musical theatre repertoire in its very first concert: The Story Begins.
Featuring performances by Theatre 20 Founding Artists Colm Wilkinson, Louise Pitre, Ma-Anne Dionisio, Tamara Bernier Evans, Eliza-Jane Scott and Carly Street with Joe Matheson, Sterling Jarvis, Jeff Madden, Gavin Hope, SharRon Matthews, George Masswohl, Kevin Dennis, Adrienne Dennis, Robyn Hutton and Jake Epstein. Directed by Tracey Flye.

DRIVEN TO SCORE: Celebrating Canadian musical composers
June 20, 2011 at 8 p.m., Panasonic Theatre
Join three versatile and prolific Canadian musical composers: Leslie Arden, Jonathan Monro and David Warrack with celebrated Canadian author and host Ann-Marie Macdonald on a journey through character, story and emotion in Theatre 20's second concert, Driven to Score.
Featuring performances by Theatre 20 Founding Artists Louise Pitre, Ma-Anne Dionisio and David Keeley with Alana Bridgewater, Sterling Jarvis and Yvan Pednault. Directed by Alisa Palmer.

MUSICALS THAT FLY: Amelia in concert
Oct. 3, 2011 at 8 p.m., Panasonic Theatre
Theatre 20 presents Amelia, the story of the meteoric rise and mysterious disappearance of the legendary pioneering aviatrix Amelia Earhart who rose to unimaginable heights, both literally and figuratively. Starring Theatre 20 Founding Artist Eliza-Jane Scott, this story-driven Canadian musical by John Gray (Billy Bishop Goes to War, Rock and Roll) is the heart of Theatre 20's third concert, Musicals That Fly. Directed by Sarah Phillips.

Three-concert series packages go on sale April 7, 2011; single concert tickets on sale April 11, 2011. Purchase via TicketKing: in person at the Panasonic Theatre box office, by phone at 416-872-1212 (toll-free 1-800-461-3333), and online at


Theatre 20's management team is made up of Artistic Director Adam Brazier, Artistic Producer Tamara Bernier Evans, General Manager Rosie Shaw and Associate Producer Michael Rubinstein. Founding artists include Evan Buliung, Brent Carver, Dan Chameroy, Juan Chioran, Ma-Anne Dionisio, Susan Gilmour, Trish Lindström, David Keeley, Nora McLellan, Louise Pitre, Eliza-Jane Scott, Carly Street, Steven Sutcliffe and Colm Wilkinson.

Theatre 20's Founding Artists have been at work for nearly two years, having first met together in 2009. In 2010, the company's focus was on continuing to develop the collective artistic vision and creative perspective, as well as bringing together an incredible Board of Directors and a solid network of supporters and advisors. 2011 marks the official company launch and the kick-off to a year of introductions and interaction with the community, continuing to build education and outreach programs, and fundraising. This intimate and entertaining Theatre 20 Concert Series will run through 2011, held at the Panasonic Theatre, and the company's first full production will be on stage in 2012.

The impressive Theatre 20 Board of Directors is a diverse mix of prominent members of Toronto's business and arts sectors. It includes Bernie Abrams, Peter Bishop, Will Goldbloom, Wendy Jarrett, Judith John, Brenda Lazare, Dave Morris, Allan O'Dette, Iris Nemani, Lola Rasminsky, Jim Roe, Catharine Saxberg, Dr. Duncan Scott, Ron Singer, Jennifer Sloan, David Timms, Brian Topp, Benjamin Trister and Lori Willcox.

Theatre 20 is a Toronto-based, artist-led theatre company formed to present story-driven musicals by developing new Canadian works and by re-imagining existing repertoire.
It aims to nurture the talent of writers and composers and foster the development of young artists through mentorship and education programs. Visit for more information.

Related Articles

Toronto THEATER Stories | Shows  BWW Toronto  BWW Toronto

From This Author BWW News Desk

Before you go...