Five Finalists Chosen For The 30th Annual Seattle International Comedy Competition

After 18 shows, the five finalists have been chosen in the 30th Annual Seattle International Comedy Competition. In alphabetical order, they are Paul Hooper (Charlotte), Sean Kent (Austin), Rodger Lizaola (Seattle), Jose Sarduy (Miami), and Travis Simmons (Seattle).

Finals begin on November 24th, and the the winner will be chosen at the Grand Finale show on Sunday November 29, 2009 at 8:00pm at the Moore Theatre. The show is presented by Seattle Theatre Group, co-produced with the People's Republic of Komedy & sponsored by Pagliacci Pizza.

Winner gets $5000 cash and a CD recording contract (with a $1000 advance) from Uproar Entertainment, America's #1 comedy label (Brian Regan, John Pinnette, National Lampoon, etc).

The Competition is a contest-slash-touring festival, consisting of 23 shows over 26 days in 19 venues in Western Washington and features 32 professional comedians competing for over $15,000 in cash prizes.

This competition began in 1980, and has been held every year since. Past participants include Patton Oswalt, Mitch Hedberg, Ross Shafer, Aisha Tyler, Brian Posehn, among many others.

Recently, 2007 Winner "Marcus" went on to be the runner-up on NBC's "Last Comic Standing."

Complete information, including schedule of events, tickets, and photos and bios of the participants can be found at:

Tickets: $18.00 not including applicable fees. Tickets are on sale now at, in person at the Paramount Theatre box offices, 24-hour kiosks located outside The Paramount & Moore Theatres, charge by phone at 877-STG-4TIX, or online at


Related Articles View More Seattle Stories   Shows

More Hot Stories For You

Before you go...

Like Us On Facebook
Follow Us On Twitter
Follow Us On Instagram instagram