William Jessup University Wins 11 Elly Awards at the 36th Annual Elly Awards Ceremony

William Jessup University Wins 11 Elly Awards at the 36th Annual Elly Awards Ceremony

William Jessup University nearly swept the musical category tonight winning an amazing 9 out of 12 Elly Awards in the musical category for Scrooge, the Musical. They received Elly Awards for Choreography, Costume Design, Direction, Leading Male, Lighting Design, Musical Direction, Set Design, Sound Design and Overall Production! Their other two Elly Awards were for The Hound of the Baskervilles for Lighting Design and Sound Design in the Comedy category.

Glitz and glamour were abundant during the 36th Annual Elly Awards- Adult Division held at the lovely Center at 2300 in Sacramento. Named for Eleanor McClatchy, a devoted patron of the arts and former publisher of the Sacramento Bee, the Elly Awards celebrates excellence in Sacramento's local and regional community theater. A grand total of 31 Elly Awards were given to individuals and theaters in the Comedy, Drama, Musical and Original Script categories plus two Lifetime Achievement Awards. Sponsored by the Sacramento Area Regional Theatre Alliance (SARTA), this annual celebration of excellence featured an eclectic passing of time theme with a delicious mashed potato bar, unique cocktails, exquisite table top decorations and a fun photo booth featuring a large clock!.

A variety of musical numbers from the Overall Production of a Musical nominees included selections from Mary Poppins performed by Rocklin Community Theatre; The Addams Family performed by Stockton Civic Theatre; Scrooge, the Musical performed by William Jessup University and Sweeney Todd performed by 6 Players Studio Theatre. Peter Kagstrom was the amazing musical director who kept things lively and on time throughout the evening.

The 165 Adult Elly nominations represented 152 productions from 46 participating theatres. The 31 Elly Awards recognized 18 productions and 16 theatres.

Elly Awards for Overall Production in individual categories in the Adult Division went to:

  • Snake in the Grass - Quest Theaterworks - Drama

  • Sunshine Boys - Volcano Theatre Company - Comedy

  • Scrooge, The Musical - William Jessup University - Musical

The shows receiving the most Elly Awards were:

  • Scrooge, the Musical, William Jessup University (9)

  • Snake in the Grass, Quest Theaterworks (3)

  • Marat/Sade, The Falcon's Eye Theatre (2)

  • Julius Caesar, American River College (2)

  • The 39 Steps, Big Idea Theatre (2)

  • Sunshine Boys, Volcano Theatre Company (2)

  • The Hound of the Baskervilles, William Jessup University (2)

The Elly Award for Original Script was given to:

  • Treasure Island, Lonon Smith and Theatre One

The Original Script award is given to both the playwright and the theatre that produces the show.

Lifetime Achievement Awards were given to Eileen Beaver and Bob Duzdevich. Eileen Beaver is a long-time member of the theatre community as both as amazing costumer and an outstanding actress. She has offered her costume expertise to Davis Musical Theatre Company, Magic Circle Theatre and Sutter Street Theatre over the past 30 years! Eileen has also "tread the boards' at

Chautauqua Playhouse, Lincoln Theatre Company and Sutter Street Theatre! She has won three Ellys for Costume Design in a Young People's Play.

Bob Duzdevich is also a three-time Elly Award winner for both Lighting Design and Sound Design. Based at Volcano Theatre Company since the mid- 1980's Bob has held most jobs from workshop instructor, box office/concession manager, lighting and sound designer and operator, business manager and, last, but not least, director. Bob has directed shows nearly every year since 1990! Bob is a devoted member of VTC and also a strong supporter of the greater Amador County community attending numerous events and even finding time to volunteer as SANTA! Congratulations to both of these Lifetime Achievement Award winners!

Twenty (20) Elly judges volunteered countless hours attending every show submitted in the category they judged - Comedy, Drama, Musicals. Awards within each category are given for: Leading Male and Leading Female; Supporting Male and Supporting Female; Direction; Costume Design; Lighting Design; Set Design; Sound Design, Musical Direction, if applicable; Choreography, if applicable; and Overall Production. The Original Script award is given for the writing of the script.

SARTA's mission is to promote high quality community theatre in the Sacramento area and neighboring regions. When combined with the opportunity to provide quality entertainment and formal recognition of those in the performing arts, SARTA and the Sacramento community benefit.

In addition to the Elly Awards program, SARTA provides its members with a weekly email update for auditions, casting calls, workshops, events and jobs plus a monthly electronic TheatreLetter featuring current and on-going theatre production listings and upcoming SARTA events. SARTA members also receive discounted ticket prices at participating SARTA member theatres and the annual Elly Award ceremony. SARTA is now offering low cost workshops for actors and designers at our Arden Arcade office. For more information about SARTA and how you can support this programming, please visit the website at www.sarta.com. SARTA is a non-profit 501© 3 organization.

Related Articles View More Sacramento Stories   Shows

More Hot Stories For You

Before you go...

Like Us On Facebook
Follow Us On Twitter
Follow Us On Instagram