Montana Repertory Theatre Offers Women Creating Theatre Program, Colony 19: 7/12 - 7/19
by BWW News Desk - May 28, 2014

We're excited about this opportunity to focus on the feminine and to offer time, space, and resources to the gender long underappreciated in the world of theatre. Three noted playwrights- Deb Laufer, Molly Rice, and Julia Jordan-will lead the Colony along with Salina Chatlain, who has produced the Colony for the past two years.They'll be joined by other women producers, dramaturgs, and directors. Eight days of writing, laughing, listening, floating, hiking, and learning--an immersion into the creative writing process for stage and screen. (more...)

Chicago Dramatists Welcomes New Resident Playwrights
by BWW News Desk - Nov 19, 2010

Chicago Dramatists, 1105 W. Chicago Avenue, is proud to announce the addition of three new members to its esteemed list of 40 Resident Playwrights. (more...)

Goodman Theatre Launches Playwright's Unit
by BWW News Desk - Nov 3, 2010

Goodman Theatre proudly launches the Playwrights' Unit Unit-a brand new season-long residency program designed to nurture Chicago's most promising playwrights. The four inaugural writers, selected by Artistic Director and Director of New Play Development Robert Falls and the Goodman's artistic staff, are Seth Bockley (Jon, The Twins Would Like to Say; winner of the Goodman's 2009 Ofner Prize), Lisa Dillman (Detail of a Larger Work, Rock Shore), Laura Jacqmin (Ski Dubai, Look, We are Breathing) and Rohina M Malik alik (Yasmina's Necklace, Unveiled). The writers will develop new plays over the course of the residency, culminating in final readings of their works-in-progress in Spring 2011. The Playwrights' Unit is part of the Goodman's ongoing initiatives to commission and develop new plays. This ambitious program has resulted in such plays as the 2009 Pulitzer Prize-winner Ruined by Lynn Nottage and the upcoming Stage Kiss by Sarah Ruhl and Mary by Thomas Bradshaw-as well as the New Stages Series (January 14 - 16 and 21 - 23, 2011). (more...)

Chicago Dramatists Announces New Playwrights in Residence
by BWW News Desk - Oct 6, 2010

Chicago Dramatists, 1105 W. Chicago Avenue, is proud to announce the addition of three new members to its esteemed list of 40 Resident Playwrights. This fresh batch of extremely talented and exciting writers includes Randall Colburn, Carlos Murillo, and Emily Schwartz. Other Resident Playwrights have included Rick Cleveland (Mad Men), Rebecca Gilman (Spinning into Butter), Lydia R. Diamond (Stick Fly), Keith Huff (A Steady Rain), Roger Rueff (The Big Kahuna), Brett Neveu (Gas for Less), and Tanya Saracho (Our Lady of the Underpass). Additionally, Chicago Dramatists has developed a new honor for retiring Resident Playwrights of special note: The Distinguished Resident Playwright Emeritus. (more...)

Photo Flash: Chicago Dramatists' Special Benefit Performance of A STEADY RAIN, 11/14
by BWW News Desk - Nov 18, 2009

The benefit performance of A STEADY RAIN for Chicago Dramatists, the creative force behind the successful production, was held on Saturday, November 14th at 8:00 p.m. at the Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre, 236 West 45th Street, New York, NY. (more...)