Featured Guest Erik Ehn to Launch New York Madness' 2013 Season, 9/15

By: Jul. 18, 2013
Get Access To Every Broadway Story

Unlock access to every one of the hundreds of articles published daily on BroadwayWorld by logging in with one click.

Existing user? Just click login.

New York Madness (NYM) is about to start its Fourth Season. With a focus on emerging writers, NYM hosts a hot night of short plays based on a theme proposed by the more established Featured Guest. The Theme is announced one week prior to the event.

NYM has been hosted by the Cherry Lane Theatre, Ensemble Studio Theatre, ESPA/Primary Stages, INTAR Theatre, IATI Theater and they will be at T. Schreiber Theater for their Season Launch on September 15th at 8pm!

The Season Launch of Sept 15th will include Featured Guest Erik Ehn (Head of Playwriting/Brown University, The Saint Plays, Soulographie Series, No PassportPress, Arts in One World) along with playwrights Cecilia Copeland* (Artistic Director) , Judith Leora* (Managing Director), Ryan Dowler* (Youngblood EST), Ed Cardona Jr.* (INTAR Theatre, Working Theatre) Molly Hagan*, Chisa Hutchinson (New Dramatists), Kristina Poe (LAByrinth Theatre Co.), and Greg Paul. (*denotes Founding Member

The Full Line up of Season Four Featured Guest Playwrights include Caridad Svich (Gun Control Theatre Action, NoPasportPress, Lifetime Obie Award Recipient), Jenny Lyn Bader (The O'Neill Playwrights Conference, New Georges, League of Professional Theatre Women, Warner Bros, NBC, HBO), Mia Chung (New Dramatists, Ma Yi Lab, Playwrights Realm, Bay Area, Woolly Mammoth), David Bar Katz (Tony Nominee, Emmy Award Recipient, LAByrinth Theatre Co, The Public, Theater J, Showtime, FoxSearchlight) and August Schulenberg (Flux Theatre Ensemble, TCG, The Lark, Mozzlestead Productions).

The fourth season involves an exciting new development: the formation of the New York Madness Acting Company. The NYMACo is a diverse group of extraordinary actors who have appeared in previous seasons and will serve as NYM's primary casting pool. Actor Anna Van Valin has been named Head of Acting. The rest of the members are: Amy Gaipa, Anna Lamadrid, Dinah Berkeley, Diana Oh, Gregory Wool, Homa Hynes, Jody Christopherson, Joel Stigliano, Josh Bywater, Lauren McCune, Maria Peyramaure, Marissa Wolf, Michael Markham, Nic Grelli, Stacey Raymond, ToNia Anderson, and William Oliver Watkins.

All NYM events are free. Please check nymadness.com and New York Madness on Facebook for more details on the company.

T. Schreiber Theater is located at 151 W. 26th Street, NY, NY. The Season Launch takes place on September 15th at 8pm.


To post a comment, you must register and login.