Rattlestick Announces Chant Bank's RESISTANCE JAMBOREE Featuring Lisa Kron

Article Pixel

Rattlestick Announces Chant Bank's RESISTANCE JAMBOREE Featuring Lisa KronRATTLESTICK PLAYWRIGHTS THEATER in partnership with CHANT BANK and ST. JOHN'S IN THE VILLAGE is pleased to announce RESISTANCE JAMBOREE taking place on July 22, 2018 from 1:00pm-3:00pm at St. John's in the Village (218 West 11th St).

RESISTANCE JAMBOREE is a community sing-a-long, open to all, where new and old songs and chants for building courage, spreading joy, recharging the soul, and carrying us onward into action, will be taught by community members, activists, and, who knows, maybe even a star of stage or screen. No experience needed. Just show up and join in! The Jamboree will be CART captioned and is ADA accessible and fully air-conditioned.

The event is open to the public and free of charge. RSVP here.

Prior to the Jamboree, St. John's in the Village will host the FEAST OF SACRED AND RESISTANCE SONGS IN HARMONY, an episcopal service to which those of all faiths and of none are welcome beginning at 11:00am, followed by a light lunch at noon. The event will be ASL interpreted and is free to the public - please RSVP here.

Lisa Kron and Nehemiah Luckett are also part of Rattlestick's 2018 NEW SONGS NOW. Presented in association with New Neighborhood and Rosalind Productions, Inc., NEW SONGS NOW is an unplugged concert series that gives inventive songwriters the opportunity to test out new material in a low-key, fun environment. Each night, two different songwriters share selections of their work, followed by a conversation with the artists to demystify the songwriting process.

The 2018 NEW SONGS NOW songwriters include Jen Goma (Smiley Face), Georgia Stitt (Snow Child, Sweet Charity), Rebecca Hart (The Cabaret at the End of the World), Or Matias (Natasha, Pierre, & the Great Comet of 1812), Nehemiah Luckett (Brick by Brick, Moons of Mercury), Jonathan Larson Award winner Melissa Li (Interstate), Simone Allen (The Cher Show, Cruel Intentions), Drama Desk nominee Helen Park (KPOP), LPfunK (Once, Cyrano de Bergerac), and Tony Award nominee Lucas Steele (Natasha, Pierre, & the Great Comet of 1812, St. Vincent's Project). Post-show facilitators include OBIE, Lortel, and Drama Desk award winner Anne Kauffman (Mary Jane), Tony, NYDCC, OBIE, and Outer Critics Circle (OCC) Award winner Lisa Kron (Fun Home), OCC nominee Paul Scott Goodman (Bright Lights Big City, Rooms - a Rock Romance), Natasha Sinha (Associate Director LCT3, co-founder Beehive dramaturgy), and OBIE Award winner Eisa Davis (Passing Strange, Preludes). The lineup is subject to change.

Tickets for NEW SONGS NOW are $10, general admission, and can be purchased at www.rattlestick.org and by phone at 212-627-2556. Standard ticketing fees apply to all orders.


Rattlestick's 2018/19 season begins in the fall, when MacArthur Genius Grant Winner Samuel D. Hunter (The Whale, Bright New Boise, The Few) will team up with long-term collaborator Davis McCallum with the plays Lewiston and Clarkston, to be performed on a double bill for the first time. In Spring 2019, Rattlestick will present the World Premiere of Lockdown by Cori Thomas (When January Feels Like Summer), and directed by Kent Gash (Barbeque), commissioned by Rattlestick with support from The Toulmin Foundation.

Subscriptions for the 2018/19 Rattlestick season are $99 for returning members. For new members, subscriptions are $109 if purchased prior to September 1. After September 1, subscriptions are $125. Rattlestick memberships include a choice premium seat for Mainstage and Apprentice shows, discounted guest tickets, unlimited ticket exchanges (subject to availability), advance notice and discount offers to readings, special events, and more.

Related Articles View More Off-Broadway Stories   Shows

More Hot Stories For You