Reston Community Players Announce 2014-15 Season and Honor Past Season's Audience Choice Awards

By: Jun. 19, 2014
Enter Your Email to Unlock This Article

Plus, get the best of BroadwayWorld delivered to your inbox, and unlimited access to our editorial content across the globe.

Existing user? Just click login.

On a night of revelry reflecting on the "revolutionary" season just past and highlighting upcoming productions, the Reston Community Players bestowed 24 audience choice "Restie" awards and three $1,000 scholarships.

"We have an incredible theatre company that I am so very proud of," said RCP president Joshua Redford at the annual gala. "What other community theatre in the area can put a 20 piece orchestra on stage, produce a Les Miserables that was so beautiful and so well executed, and follow it up with a production where the actors roller skate on stage? I'm so excited about where we are going in 2014-2015, and about the very talented people we are working with."

More than 700 audience ballots were cast to produce the winners of the Resties -- an RCP record. The critically acclaimed LesMiserables swept the awards, winning 20 of 24 categories including Outstanding Production, and Director (Andrew JMRegiec). Xanadu won two awards, Outstanding Musical Direction (Matt Jeffrey) and Outstanding Choreography (Chelsea DeRoché). Lori Brooks won Outstanding Actress in a Lead role for her portrayal of Jennie Malone in Chapter Two. A complete list of winners can be found at the end of this article. Reston Community Players also presented Shelton Hall Memorial scholarships to Shanelucas Ramsey and Hunter Robinson and the Bruce Marson Memorial Scholarship to AriaNawab for technical design.

At the annual gala, RCP also unveiled its 2014-2015 season, asoftshoeing dog, a murderous theatre troupe, a fading silent film diva, and multiple mistaken identities on a golf course. Season tickets, which allow patrons to see 4 shows for the price of 3 and start as low as $60, are currently on sale for You're a Good Man Charlie Brown, Rehearsal for Murder, Sunset Boulevard, and Fox on the Fairway.

Individual show tickets are not available until Sept. 20, 2014, but RCP encourages audience members to purchase a season ticket now to receive 4 shows for the price of 3 and guarantee a seat for the season. Season tickets may be ordered by phone at703-476-4500 x 3 or online at

Complete List of Winners
Outstanding Production: LES MISERABLES (Richard E. Schneider, producer; Kaiti Parish, stage manager, Sara Birkhead, crew chief)
Outstanding Director: Andrew JM Regiec, LES MISERABLES
Outstanding Musical Director: Matt Jeffrey, Xanadu
Outstanding Choreography: Chelsea DeRoché, Xanadu
Outstanding Musical Production Number: "One Day More" Andrew JM Regiec and Mark V. Deal
Outstanding Combat Choreography: Karen Schlumpf, LES MISERABLES

Outstanding Actress in a Lead Role: Lori Brooks (Jennie Malone) in Chapter Two
Outstanding Actor in a Lead Role: Michael Reid (Jean Valjean) in LES MISERABLES
Outstanding Actress in a Supporting Role: Emma Lord (Eponine), LES MISERABLES
Outstanding Actor in a Supporting Role: Ward Ferguson (Javert), LES MISERABLES
Outstanding Performance By Actress in Character Role: Alana Sharp (Madame Thenardier), LES MISERABLES

Outstanding Performance by Actor in Character Role: Chuck Dluhy (Thenardier), LES MISERABLES
Outstanding Performance By Actress in a Cameo Role: Ella Schnoor (Little Cosette), LES MISERABLES
Outstanding Performance by Actor in a Cameo Role: Ethan VanSlyke (Gavroche), LES MISERABLES

Outstanding Set Design: Andrew JM Regiec, Greg Steele, Richard E. Schneider, Skip Larson, LES MISERABLES
Outstanding Set Construction: Greg Steele, LES MISERABLES
Outstanding Set Decoration: Bea and Jerry Morse, Chapter Two
Outstanding Set Painting: Cathy Rieder, LES MISERABLES
Outstanding Properties: Mary Jo Ford, LES MISERABLES
Outstanding Sound Design: Rich Bird, LES MISERABLES
Outstanding Lighting Design: Ken and Patti Crowley, LES MISERABLES
Outstanding Makeup Design: Suzanne Thomas, LES MISERABLES
Outstanding Hair Design: Michelle Price and Anna Michelle Jackson, LES MISERABLES
Outstanding Costume Design: Charlotte Marson and Judy Whelihan, LES MISERABLES


To post a comment, you must register and login.