Wagner College Theatre's LA CAGE AUX FOLLES Opens Tonight

Wagner College Theatre's LA CAGE AUX FOLLES Opens TonightWagner College Theatre presents the groundbreaking musical La Cage aux Folles with performances from April 20 - April 30, 2017 in the Main Hall Theatre.
Winner of six 1984 Tony Awards, including Best Musical, Book and Score, La Cage aux Folles features music and lyrics by Jerry Herman (Hello, Dolly! and Mame) and book by Harvey Fierstein (Kinky Boots, Newsies). La Cage is based on the original French play by Jean Poiret, which inspired the successful 1978 movie "La Cage aux Folles" and the 1996 American remake, "The Birdcage."

The first Broadway musical to feature a gay couple front and center, La Cage aux Folles is a hilarious, tuneful show that conveys the importance of love, family, and acceptance. Jerry Herman's glittering score, considered by many to be his best, is filled with such gems as "The Best of Times," "Song on the Sand," and "I Am What I Am.'
Wagner College Theatre's La Cage aux Folles is directed and choreographed by Rusty Curcio (WCT's Iolanthe, CATS), WCT alum Patrick Ryan Hefferan (WCT's Anything Goes) is associate director and choreographer, with music direction by David Sisco (WCT debut). Wagner College Theatre's production features Dean Marino (Albin/ZaZa), Gregory Ippolito (George), Matthew Drinkwater (Jean-Michel), Kristine Palka (Anne), Ross Coughlin (Jacob), Liam Abate (Edouard Dindon), Sabrina Kalman (Marie Dindon), Sophia Tzougros (Jacqueline), Matt Healey (M. Renaud), Mari Skoultchi (Mme. Renaud), Samantha Ross (Francis). The Cagelles are played by: Clint Maddox Thompson (Chantal), Sydni Session (Hanna), Gabriel Green (Phaedra), Emma Pittman (Clo Clo), Kolten Bell (Bitelle), Tyler Ross (Mercedes), Justin Flores (Dermah), Katie Van Horn (Odette). The Ensemble features Zach Blanchette (Pierre), Cassie Dougherty (Paulette), Ryan Garbee (Laurent), Jonah Hale (Jacques), Dana Kluczyk (Monette), Michael Motkowski (Pepe), Kaitlin Quann (Colette), Carolyn Savoia (Babette), Kevin Atwater (Ettienne), and Gabe Trimbur (Tabbarro).

The creative team includes Phill Hickox (scenic design), Alan Smith (costume design), Vicki Neal (lighting design), Richard Kroth (sound design), Angie Johnson (wig and makeup design) and Rodd Sovar (wardrobe supervisor). Angie Nortz '18 is production stage manager.

Opening August 21, 1983, at Broadway's Palace Theatre, La Cage aux Folles starred Gene Barry and George Hearn, with direction by Arthur Laurents, running 1,762 performances. La Cage aux Folles later made history by winning the Tony Award for Best Revival of a Musical twice, first in 2004 and again in 2010.

Performances of La Cage aux Folles are Thursday through Saturday at 8pm, with matinees Saturday and Sunday at 2pm. Located in Main Hall, the Wagner College Theatre box office can be contacted at (718) 390-3259 or boxoffice@wagner.edu. Wagner College Theatre Box Office hours are Monday through Friday 12:00Noon-4:00pm. Single tickets are on sale with price ranges for children, senior and adult tickets. Wagner College students attend free with current ID.

What Do You Think? Tell Us In The Comments!

Related Articles

Long Island THEATER Stories | Shows

From This Author BWW News Desk

Before you go...