Skip to main content Skip to footer site map

MONTY PYTHON'S SPAMALOT Opens Tonight at the Athenaeum Theatre


Monty Python's Spamalot is a musical comedy "lovingly ripped off from" the 1975 film Monty Python and the Holy Grail. Like the film, it is a highly irreverent parody of the Arthurian Legend, but it differs from the film in many ways. The original 2005 Broadway production, directed by Mike Nichols with Eric Idle writing the musical's book and lyrics, won three Tony Awards, including the Tony Award for Best Musical of the 2004-05 season and received 14 Tony Award nominations.

Bob Harbin's company, BOBDIREX, with direction from Bob will be presenting the first Indianapolis production of this musical at the Historic Athenaeum Theatre. This is the fourth summer musical presented by Harbin through BOBDIREX following the success of "Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Forum," "Camp Rock" and last summer's "Cabaret." Harbin describes "Spamalot" as "nothin' but funny from beginning to end."

All performances are at the Athenaeum Theatre, 401 East Michigan Street at Massachusetts. All performances are at 7:30pmwith a 3pm matinee on June 23. Seating is reserved at $25 a ticket with discounts for Seniors and Groups of 20 or more. Reservations can be made by calling 317 / 280 - 0825 (no credit charge) or by going to our website at

The theatre has a full bar. Parking is metered on street and paid parking is available in a lot next to the theatre. Dinner and cocktails are available before and after performances at the famous Rathskeller restaurant in the basement of the building. The reservation number there is 317/636-0396.

I hope you'll be able to attend one of the performances and share what you see as we continually attempt to grow and better entertain our city of Indianapolis.


Charles Goad King Arthur

Paul Hansen Patsy

Pete Scharbrough Sir Galahad

Ben Asaykwee Sir Robin

Thomas Cardwell Sir Lancelot

Brandon Alstott Sir Bevedere

Claire Wilcher Lady of the Lake

Audrey Brinkley

Danielle Carnagua

Carl Cooper

Dejuan Jackson

Danny Kingston

Jenee Michelle

Dave Rosencrans

Dave Ruark

Ashley Saunders

Sally Scharbrough

Lincoln Slentz

Diane Tsao Boehm

Craig Underwood The Ensemble

Related Articles View More Indianapolis Stories

Buy at the Theatre Shop

T-Shirts, Mugs, Phone Cases & More

More Hot Stories For You