Skip to main content Skip to footer site map

Laura Linney Wins 2010 Common Wealth Award for Dramatic Arts

Four renowned leaders and achievers who have influenced modern society through their work and their accomplishments were honored with the 31st annual Common Wealth Awards of Distinguished Service. The awards recognize and encourage outstanding achievement worldwide in designated fields of human endeavor.

The 2010 Common Wealth Award winners are:

Annie Leibovitz, famed photographer and celebrity portraitist, for Mass Communications;
Laura Linney, award-winning actress of Broadway, film and television, for Dramatic Arts;
Greg Mortenson, renowned humanitarian; co-founder of Central Asia Institute and founder of Pennies for Peace, for Public Service;
Sir Salman Rushdie, preeminent Indian-British writer and powerful literary voice, for Literature.
The honorees were recognized at the April 24th Common Wealth Awards ceremony, hosted by The PNC Financial Services Group at the Hotel du Pont in Wilmington. Connie Bond Stuart, PNC regional president, presented the awards.

Stuart noted that "The 2010 Common Wealth honorees have devoted themselves to a lifetime of excellence in their respective careers. They have educated, entertained and inspired people the world over. We salute these high achievers for their contributions to the arts and public service, and we look forward to a future that continues to bear the imprint of their outstanding work."

The Common Wealth Awards of Distinguished Service were first presented in 1979 and are funded by The Ralph Hayes Common Wealth Foundation. PNC is trustee and administrator of the foundation, which was created under the will of the late Ralph Hayes, an influential business executive and philanthropist.

A total of $4.8 million in prize money has been conferred to 173 honorees during the 31-year history of The Common Wealth Awards. The honorees received a sculpted trophy and a shared prize of $200,000 during the ceremony.

More than 500 invited guests attended The Common Wealth Awards ceremony, including Delaware's leaders from the business community, government and elected office, education, the arts and community service.

Ralph Hayes served on the board of directors of PNC Delaware's predecessor banks from 1935 to 1965. Through The Common Wealth Awards, he sought to recognize outstanding achievement in eight disciplines: dramatic arts, literature, science, invention, mass communications, public service, government, and sociology. The awards also provide an incentive for people to make future contributions to the world community.

The roster of past Common Wealth Award recipients reveals the caliber of talent and the global scope of the honorees and their achievements. Among the past winners are 11 Nobel laureates, including human rights leader Archbishop Desmond Tutu, former statesman Henry Kissinger and authors Gabriel García Márquez and Toni Morrison. Other Common Wealth Award winners include former Secretary of State Colin Powell; children's television icon, the late FrEd Rogers; H.M. Queen Noor of Jordan; dance legend Mikhail Baryshnikov; Hollywood icons Sidney Poitier and Meryl Streep; astronaut Buzz Aldrin; primatologist Jane Goodall; ocean explorer Robert Ballard; television journalists Walter Cronkite and Cokie Roberts; and World Wide Web inventor Tim Berners-Lee.


More Hot Stories For You

Possum Point Players Sets 50th Anniversary Gala For Next MonthPossum Point Players Sets 50th Anniversary Gala For Next Month
September 26, 2022

Possum Point Players open a year of celebration with “Love Makes the World Go 'Round,” a gala that features music drawn from many musicals performed over the years since 1973. Starting at 6:00 pm, Saturday, Oct. 9, in Possum Hall, those attending will be treated to complimentary Champagne and desserts that reflect themes of some of Possums' favorite productions.

Own a Special Piece of Possum Point Players History With Online AuctionOwn a Special Piece of Possum Point Players History With Online Auction
September 22, 2022

Possum Point Players have gone live with an online auction of six handmade possum show mascots.  Bidders can go online at the PPP website and see the Possums which are up for auctioned.  All instructions are on the website under “ON-LINE EXCLUSIVE.

Virginia Madsen Joins Six-City East Coast Tour Of Suicide Awareness Play RIGHT BEFORE I GOVirginia Madsen Joins Six-City East Coast Tour Of Suicide Awareness Play RIGHT BEFORE I GO
September 14, 2022

Virginia Madsen, Academy Award nominee from the hit movie 'Sideways', has been added to the east coast tour of Stan Zimmerman's suicide awareness play, 'Right Before I Go', highlighting the raw struggles of people in all walks of life that have died by suicide.

Tony Award-Winning Musical TOOTSIE Comes To Wilmington, October 6-9Tony Award-Winning Musical TOOTSIE Comes To Wilmington, October 6-9
September 8, 2022

TOOTSIE, the hilarious Tony Award-winning musical, coming to The Playhouse on Rodney Square in Wilmington for a limited five performance engagement from October 6 to October 9.

Arden Gild Hall Welcomes Prog Rock Legends NEKTAR On September 30Arden Gild Hall Welcomes Prog Rock Legends NEKTAR On September 30
September 8, 2022

Arden Concert Gild presents An Evening with NEKTAR, Friday September 30, 2022 - 8 PM.