Skip to main content Skip to footer site map

WaterTower Theatre Announces Free Day Of Theatre For Addison Residents 9/26


WaterTower Theatre Producing Artistic Director, Terry Martin, announced today a special opportunity for full-time residents of the Town of Addison: Our Town for Our Town, a free performance of WaterTower Theatre's production of Our Town on Sunday, September 26 at 2 pm.

In celebration of the Town of Addison's generous support, WaterTower Theatre is inviting all full-time residents of Addison to a free performance of Our Town on September 26 at the 2 pm performance.
WaterTower is proud to present Our Town for Our Town to the community that so generously supports us. Advance reservations are required.

To make a reservation, contact Elizabeth Kaminski at 972.450.6279 by Monday, September 20. This performance is open to Addison residents only and a reservation is required. Patrons attending this free performance must be prepared to show proof of Addison residency with a valid form of ID or a current utility bill. The offer is limited to 4 people per household, who all must live in Addison, and will be required to show proof of residency as well.

Directed by and featuring Terry Martin, WTT's Producing Artistic Director, Our Town is a poignant and profound American masterpiece. This classic chronicles the simple, but rather pleasant lives of the Gibbs family, the Webb family and their neighbors in Grover's Corners, New Hampshire.

Our Town is generously sponsored by Atmos Energy with additional support from media sponsors WFAA and The Dallas Voice.

Our Town for Our Town:

Date: Sunday, September 26, 2010
Time: 2 p.m.
Performance: Our Town, produced by WaterTower Theatre. Free to all residents of Addison.
Where: WaterTower Theatre, Addison Theatre Centre, 15650 Addison Road, Addison, Texas 75001
Reservations: Advance reservations required by calling 972-450-6279
Special requirements: Proof of Addison residency is required for every ticket holder using a valid ID or current utility bill.

Our Town Artistic Credits:

Written by Thornton Wilder
Director, Terry Martin
Assistant Director, Amy Anders Corcoran
Set Designer, Clare Floyd DeVries
Costume Designer, Michael A. Robinson
Lighting Designer, Susan A. White
Props Designer, Georgana Jinks
Sound Designer, Curtis Craig
Stage Manager, Heidi Shen

About the Playwright

Our Town, the winner of the Pulitzer Prize in 1938, is an iconic giant in American dramatic history. Spanning almost thirteen years in the town of Grover's Corners, the quintessentiAl Small community, Our Town's characters reflect the hopes and dreams, the failures and successes, of people everywhere.

A pivotal figure in the history of 20th century letters, whose works explore the connection between The Commonplace and the cosmic dimensions of human experience, Thornton Wilder's
works continue to be widely produced and read. Wilder is the only writer to win Pulitzer Prizes for both fiction and drama - for his novel The Bridge of San Luis Rey (1927) and two plays, Our Town (1938) and The Skin of Our Teeth (1942). His other novels, all but one best-sellers, include The Cabala, The Woman of Andros, Heaven's My Destination, The Ides of March, The Eighth Day and Theophilus North. His other major dramas include The Matchmaker (adapted as the internationally acclaimed musical comedy Hello, Dolly!) and The Alcestiad. The Happy Journey to Trenton and Camden and The Long Christmas Dinner are among his celebrated shorter plays.

About the Director

Terry Martin (Director) is WaterTower Theatre's Producing Artistic Director, a position he has held for 12 years. Our Town will be MR. Martin's 39th production he has directed for WaterTower Theatre. Some of his directing credits at WTT include Man of La Mancha, Humble Boy, The Crucible, Take Me Out, A Country Life (which he adapted from Chekhov's Uncle Vanya and which won the 2005 Rabin Award - Best New Play), Cabaret, It Ain't Nothin' But The Blues, Company, An Inspector Calls, The Mystery of Edwin Drood, The Laramie Project, You Can't Take It With You, Book of Days, Cat on a Hot Tin Roof (2002 Rabin Award - Director of a Play), Sweeney Todd (2002 Rabin Award Nomination - Director of a Musical), Desire Under the Elms, Ravenscroft, Rockin' Christmas Party (2000, 2001), Enter the Guardsman (2001 Rabin Award Nomination - Director of a Musical), Lady Day at Emerson's Bar and Grill and Little Shop of Horrors (2000 Rabin Award Nomination - Director of a Musical) among others. For Plano Repertory Theatre, he has directed Journey's End (2000 Rabin Award - Director of a Play), Dracula, La Bête, Little Shop of Horrors and Pump Boys and Dinettes.

About WaterTower Theatre

WaterTower Theatre is one of the leading regional theatres in North Dallas and Texas. It is consistently recognized for its artistic excellence by the Dallas Theatre League, Dallas/Fort Worth Theatre Critics Forum, The Dallas Morning News, The Dallas Observer, D Magazine and The Fort Worth Star-Telegram, among others. WaterTower Theatre has a subscription base of more than 2,100 subscribers and serves an audience of over 35,000 patrons annually.

WaterTower Theatre gratefully acknowledges the support of The Town of Addison, TACA, Texas Commission on the Arts, The 500, Inc., and the National Endowment for the Arts. WaterTower Theatre is supported, in part, through the generosity of Ackley Financial Group, Inc., Atmos Energy, AT&T Yellow Pages, Target, the Embrey Family Foundation, Haynes and Boone, LLP, Liberty Capital Bank, Rainmaker Advertising and The Shubert Foundation.

Related Articles View More Dallas Stories

Featured on Stage Door

Shoutouts, Classes & More

More Hot Stories For You