Theatre Artists Workshop to present TWELVE ANGRY MEN

By: Jan. 22, 2018
Enter Your Email to Unlock This Article

Plus, get the best of BroadwayWorld delivered to your inbox, and unlimited access to our editorial content across the globe.

Existing user? Just click login.

The Theatre Artists Workshop(TAW) will present three staged readings of the classic Reginald Rose play "Twelve Angry Men" on February 9 and 10 at 8 pm and February 11 at 3 pm for a suggested donation of $20. TAW is located at 5 Gregory Boulevard in Norwalk, CT.

The staged readings will be directed by Broadway veteran and Fairfield native Mike Boland, who will also play Juror 3. Two-time Emmy winner John Wesley Shipp of New York City will play Juror 8. Also in the cast are Jim Gordon, Paulo Arujo, Guy Rocco, and Matt Young (Norwalk), Jason Peck (Ridgefield), Larry Greeley (Wilton), Frank Piazza (Bridgeport), Mike Massimino (Easton), Robert Watts (Milford), Al Bhatt (Monroe), and Rob Kennedy (Bethany).

"Twelve Angry Men" is written by former Westport resident Reginald Rose. Rose received an Emmy award for his script for CBS television's program "Studio One" in 1954, and an Oscar nomination for his 1957 screenplay. It ran for 228 performances on Broadway in 2004-2005 and then toured nationally.

The play is set in a jury room in New York City in the late 1950s. A teenaged boy is on trial for his father's murder. Throughout the deliberations we are witness to a blistering character study and an examination of the American melting pot and the judicial system that keeps it in check. Twelve Angry Men is a play of great hope, and a portrait of how one voice, standing alone, can make all the difference.

In addition to touring with the play, Boland appeared on Broadway in "An Enemy of the People" and Off-Broadway in "The Orphans' Home Cycle." His television credits include "Person of Interest," "Zero Hour" and "Rubicon." Shipp appeared on Broadway in "Dancing at Lughnasa and "Safe Sex." He currently stars in "The Flash" and won Emmy's for "As the World Turns" and "Santa Barbara" in consecutive years.

The Theatre Artists Workshop was founded by Keir Dullea and his wife, the late Susie Fuller, in 1983. TAW is designed as a safe place, a theatrical gymnasium where theatre professionals hone their craft, stretch creative muscles, develop new plays, and get constructive feedback from fellow actors, writers and directors away from the glare of the public performance. Many of its plays have gone on to professional runs on Broadway, Off-Broadway, and in regional theatres, and its membership has included such luminaries as Anne Baxter, Theodore Bikel, Phoebe Brand, Morton DaCosta, Sandy Dennis, Mia Dillon, Christopher Durang, Kevin Gray, Shirley Knight, Ring Lardner Jr., James Noble, Jane Powell, Lee Richardson, Laura San Giacomo and Brett Somers.


To post a comment, you must register and login.