Skip to main content Skip to footer site map

Music Theater Works Announces 2019 season

Music Theater Works has announced its 2019 season, opening with the Pulitzer Prize-winning HOW TO SUCCEED IN BUSINESS WITHOUT REALLY TRYING (June 8-16), followed by the Chicago professional premiere of THE HUNCHBACK OF NOTRE DAME (August 17-25), LERNER AND LOEWE'S GREATEST HITS (October 4-13), and JOSEPH AND THE AMAZING TECHNICOLOR DREAMCOAT (December 21-31).

The current 2018 season concludes with Judy Garland; COME RAIN OR COME SHINE, STARRING Angela Ingersoll October 5-14, 2018, and INTO THE WOODS, December 22-31 2018.

The October Judy Garland and Lerner and Loewe concerts will be at Nichols Concert Hall in Evanston. All other productions are at the company's home venue, Cahn Auditorium in Evanston.

The ticket office is located at 516 4th Street in Wilmette. Discount season packages are available. To purchase tickets call (847) 920-5360 or order online at MusicTheaterWorks.com

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

HOW TO SUCCEED IN BUSINESS WITHOUT REALLY TRYING

Book by Abe Burrows, Jack Weinstock and Willie Gilbert

Music and Lyrics by Frank Loesser

Based upon the book by Shepherd Mead

With full orchestra

Press Opening Saturday, June 8, 2019 at 8 pm

Sunday, June 9 at 2 pm

Wednesday, June 12 at 2 pm

Friday, June 14 at 8 pm

Saturday, June 15 at 8 pm

Sunday, June 16 at 2 pm

Cahn Auditorium, 600 Emerson Street, Evanston

The Pulitzer Prize-winning satire of 1960s big business, from the composer of GUYS AND DOLLS.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Chicago professional premiere

THE HUNCHBACK OF NOTRE DAME

Music by Alan Menken

Lyrics by Stephen Schwartz

Book by Peter Parnell

Based on the Victor Hugo novel and songs from the Disney film

With full orchestra

Press Opening Night: Saturday, August 17, 2019 at 8 pm

Sunday, August 18 at 2 pm

Wednesday, August 21 at 2 pm

Friday, August 23 at 8 pm

Saturday, August 24 at 8 pm

Sunday, August 25 at 2 pm

Cahn Auditorium, 600 Emerson Street, Evanston

Lushly scored retelling of Victor Hugo's epic story of love and acceptance, by the creators of WICKED and BEAUTY AND THE BEAST.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

LERNER AND LOEWE'S GREATEST HITS

Press Opening: Friday, October 4, 2019 at 8 pm

Saturday, October 5 at 8 pm

Sunday, October 6 at 2 pm

Wednesday, October 9 at 2 pm

Thursday, October 10 at 2 pm

Friday, October 11 at 8 pm

Saturday, October 12 at 2 and 8 pm

Sunday, October 13 at 2 pm

Nichols Concert Hall, 1490 Chicago Avenue, Evanston

Show-stopping songs from the classic musicals BRIGADOON, MY FAIR LADY, GIGI, PAINT YOUR WAGON and CAMELOT.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

JOSEPH AND THE AMAZING TECHNICOLOR DREAMCOAT

Lyrics by Tim Rice

Music by Andrew Lloyd Webber

With full orchestra

Press Opening: Saturday, December 21, 2019 at 8 pm

Sunday, December 22 at 2 pm

Thursday, December 26 at 2 pm

Friday, December 27 at 2 pm

Saturday, December 28 at 2 and 8 pm

Sunday, December 29 at 2 pm

Tuesday, December 31 at 8 pm (New Year's Eve)

Cahn Auditorium, 600 Emerson Street, Evanston

Tuneful, colorful family musical for the holidays,

Music Theater Works (formerly Light Opera Works) is a resident professional not-for-profit theater in Evanston, founded in 1980. The company's mission is to produce and present musical theater from a variety of world traditions, to engage the community through educational and outreach programs and to train artists in musical theater. All productions are presented in English, with foreign works done in carefully edited modern translations. Maximum scholarship is employed to preserve the original vocal and orchestral material as well as the spirit of the original text whenever possible. Audiences know that at Music Theater Works they will experience repertoire often unavailable on the stages of commercial theaters and opera houses, in modern productions with professional artists and full orchestra.


Featured at the Theatre Shop

T-Shirts, Mugs, Phone Cases & More

Related Articles View More Chicago Stories

More Hot Stories For You