Skip to main content Skip to footer site map

ROMA Wins Best Picture at the Los Angeles Film Critics Association Awards

ROMA Wins Best Picture at the Los Angeles Film Critics Association Awards

Roma won for Best Picture of the Year, it was announced today by Claudia Puig, President of the Los Angeles Film Critics Association (LAFCA).

"What I love about this year's awards is how naturally inclusive this year's crop of winners is," said Puig. "It's a joy to celebrate such an eclectic, outstanding array of films and honorees from around the world."

The 44th annual Los Angeles Film Critics Association awards ceremony will be held Saturday, January 12th at the InterContinental, Los Angeles. As previously announced, Hayao Miyazaki will receive the 2018 Career Achievement Award.

Award winners are:

Runner-up: "Burning"

DIRECTOR: Debra Granik, "Leave No Trace"
Runner-up: Alfonso Cuarón, "Roma"

ACTOR: Ethan Hawke, "First Reformed"
Runner-up: Ben Foster, "Leave No Trace"

ACTRESS: Olivia Colman, "The Favourite"
Runner-up: Toni Collette, "Hereditary"

SUPPORTING ACTOR: Steven Yeun, "Burning"
Runner-up: Hugh Grant, "Paddington 2"

SUPPORTING ACTRESS: Regina King, "If Beale Street Could Talk'
Runner-up: Elizabeth Debicki, "Widows"

SCREENPLAY: Nicole Holofcener and Jeff Whitty, "Can You Ever Forgive Me?"
Runner-up: Deborah Davis and Tony McNamara, "The Favourite"

ANIMATION: "Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse"
Runner-up: "The Incredibles 2"

FOREIGN LANGUAGE FILM: "Burning" and "Shoplifters" (tie)

Runner-up: "Minding the Gap"


FILM EDITING: Joshua Altman and Bing Liu, "Minding the Gap"
Runner-up: Alfonso Cuarón and Adam Gough, "Roma"

CINEMATOGRAPHY: Alfonso Cuarón, "Roma"
Runner-up: James Laxton, "If Beale Street Could Talk"

PRODUCTION DESIGN: Hannah Beachler, "Black Panther"
Runner-up: Fiona Crombie, "The Favourite"

MUSIC/SCORE: Nicholas Britell, "If Beale Street Could Talk"
Runner-up: Justin Hurwitz, "First Man"

DOUGLAS E. EDWARDS INDEPENDENT/EXPERIMENTAL FILM/VIDEO: "The Green Fog" from directors Evan Johnson, Galen Johnson and Guy Maddin

SPECIAL CITATION: "The Other Side of the Wind"


Founded in 1975, The Los Angeles Film Critics Association (LAFCA) is comprised of Los Angeles-based, professional film critics working in the Los Angeles print and electronic media. Each December, LAFCA members vote on the year's Achievement Awards, honoring screen excellence on both sides of the camera. Plaques of recognition are then presented to winners during LAFCA's annual awards ceremony, held in mid-January.

Aside from honoring each year's outstanding cinematic achievements, LAFCA has also made it a point to look back and pay tribute to distinguished industry veterans with its annual Career Achievement Award, which is announced in October, as well as to look forward by spotlighting fresh, promising talent with its annual New Generation Award. In addition, over the past three decades, LAFCA has sponsored and hosted numerous film panels and events and donated funds to various Los Angeles film organizations, especially where film preservation was concerned. LAFCA members have also collectively been vocal about taking up causes they have felt passionate about, from drafting formal protests against censorship and colorization to lending their support to controversial films.

For a full list of voting members, visit:

Featured at the Theatre Shop

T-Shirts, Mugs, Phone Cases & More
Branded Broadway Merch

Related Articles View More TV Stories

From This Author TV News Desk