Twain Debut New Song at NPR, Announce Double-EP Due January 25

Twain Debut New Song at NPR, Announce Double-EP Due January 25

Twain has released their first new music since 2017's critically-lauded Rare Feeling. Twain's singer and songwriter Mt. Davidson tells us "This song is about the freedom-feeling of allowing Love its natural Death." NPR All Songs Considered premiered "Young God (gotta lotta feeling)" today, noting "Twain songs retain a live energy with little editing. Like an old cassette, the sounds on these records are limited to a mild and pleasant midrange and swathed in a lisping hiss. Even as "Young God" rises from its quiet, glimmering opening to a thumping, full band apotheosis, the coloring of that sound frames it like a photo in an album."

Stream "Young God (gotta lotta feeling)"


With the song, Twain announced a 12" double EP to be released January 25 on Keeled Scales. Titled 2 E.P.s, the 14-track collection represents two distinct moments in the artist's recording history. Side A is New Miami Sound, unreleased material from the Rare Feeling album sessions. Side B isAlternator, an intimate recording of Davidson performing a selection of his songs in a van; it is the first fully solo Twain music to be released on vinyl. The painting ("Margie") featured on the album jacket was made by the group's drummer, Peter Pezzimenti (@friendthathelps).

Over the course of a young but eventful career, Davidson has contributed his virtuoso musicianship to the likes of The Low Anthem, Spirit Family Reunion, Deslondes and more. He spent 2018 on the road, touring as Twain alongside Langhorne Slim, Horse Feathers and Buck Meek among others and making his Newport Folk Festival debut. Demand for his devastatingly raw stage presence continues to build nationwide. He'll begin another run through the South next month. Full list of dates is below.

In addition to Twain's upcoming release, Keeled Scales has announced a new distribution agreeement with Secretly Distribution, taking effect January 1, 2019. Keeled Scales is an Austin-based independent label that has earned a strong reputation regionally and nationally for exceptionally tasteful curation of distinctly fresh acts. The roster includes Julia Lucille, Buck Meek, Sun June, Knife in the Water, Sun Riah, The Shivers and several more.


Side A: New Miami Sound

1. Death (or S.F.)

2. Young God (gotta lotta feeling)

3. Eileen

4. Big Dog Mind

Side B: Alternator

5. Nature Song

6. Black Chair

7. Prisoner

8. High Tide

9. Cold Beer in W.V.

10. Rare Feeling v. 1

Digital Exclusives

11. Holy Navigator

12. Anything Can Happen

13. Little Dog Mind (New Miami v.)

14. Love is Born



November 24 | New Orleans, LA @ house show (w. Julie Odell)
November 26 | Gainesville, FL @ Limin Room
November 27 | Orlando, FL @ Gallery Space Called Home

November 28 | St. Augustine, FL @ Sarbez

November 29 | Atlanta, GA @ house show
November 30 | Athens, GA @ Flicker Theatre
December 05 | High Point, NC @ Centennial Station Arts Center

Related Articles View More Music Stories

More Hot Stories For You

Before you go...

Never Miss a Story
Like Us On Facebook
Follow Us On Twitter
Follow Us On Instagram instagram