The Flaming Lips Set To Release Greatest Hits Volume 1 on 6/1

The Flaming Lips Set To Release Greatest Hits Volume 1 on 6/1

The Flaming Lips announce their first official "hits" collection on Warner Bros. Records to be released on June 1. Greatest Hits Vol. 1 will compile eleven WBR-era singles and album tracks on a single black vinyl pressing. This is the first time The Lips have presented singles from Transmissions From The Satellite Heart (1993), Clouds Taste Metallic (1995), The Soft Bulletin (1999), Yoshimi Battles The Pink Robots (2002), At War With The Mystics (2006), Embryonic (2009) and their current album Oczy Mlody (2017) on a single disc. The Deluxe digital and Deluxe 3-CD Edition of Greatest hits Vol.1 significantly expands the concept of their "hits" and gathers some of their best-loved album tracks from the aforementioned albums plus deep cuts from their WBR album debut, Hit To Death In The Future Head (1992), along with music from, Zaireeka (1997), The Flaming Lips And Heady Fwends (2012) and The Terror (2013). The Deluxe Editions will also compile a generous hatful of International single B-sides, studio outtakes and several previously unreleased tracks to present an essential view into the extraordinary body of work from one of the most influential and enduring rock bands of all-time.

Pre-orders for the Deluxe Edition only begins today. All pre-orders will receive an instant download of album track "We Can't Predict The Future". Further instant grat tracks will be available for those who pre-order with a download of "The Captain" on May 11 and one final instant download of

"Enthusiasm For Life Defeats Existential Fear Pt.2", on May 25 and the complete album on June 1. Click here to pre-order.

Tracklisting for Greatest Hits Vol. 1 (Vinyl edition)

Side One:

1. Do You Realize??

2. Yoshimi Battles The Pink Robots Pt. 1

3. Race For The Prize

4. Waitin' For A Superman

5. When You Smile

6. She Don't Use Jelly

Side Two:

1. Bad Days (Aurally Excited Version)

2. The W.A.N.D.

3. Silver Trembling Hands

4. The Castle

5. The Yeah Yeah Yeah Song

Tracklisting for Greatest Hits Vol. 1 Deluxe Edition (3-CD & Digital)

Disc 1:

1. Talkin' 'BoutThe Smiling Deathporn Immortality Blues

2. Hit Me Like You Did The First Time

3. Frogs

4. Felt Good To Burn

5. Turn It On

6. She Don't Use Jelly

7. Chewin' The Apple Of Your Eye

8. Slow Nerve Action

9. Psychiatric Explorations of the Fetus with Needles

10. Brainville

11. Lightning Strikes The Postman

12. When You Smile

13. Christmas At the Zoo

14. Bad Days (Aurally Excited Version)

15. Riding To Work In The Year 2025

16. Race For The Prize

17. Waiting For Superman

18. The Spark That Bled

19. What Is the Light?

Disc 2:

1. Yoshimi Battles The Pink Robots Pt. 1

2. In The Morning Of The Magicians

3. All We Have Is Now

4. Do You Realize??

5. The W.A.N.D.

6. Pompeii Am Gotterdammerung

7. Vein Of Stars

8. The Yeah Yeah Yeah Song

9. Convinced of the Hex

10. See The Leaves

11. Silver Trembling Hands

12. Is David Bowie Dying

13. Try To Explain

14. Always There In Our Hearts

15. How??

16. There Should Be Unicorns

17. The Castle

Disc 3:

1. Zero to A Million (Demo)

2. Jet's (Cupid's Kiss Vs. The Psyche of Death)

3. Thirty-five thousand feet of Despair

4. The Captain

5. 1000 Ft Hands

6. Noodling Theme

7. Up Above The Daily Hum

8. The Yeah Yeah Yeah Song (In Anatropous Remix)

9. We Can't Predict The Future (Peel Session)

10. Your Face Can Tell The Future

11. You Gotta Hold On

12. What Does It Mean

13. Spiderman vs Muhammed Ali

14. I Got Zapped By The Super Rainbow

15. Enthusiasm For Life Defeats Existential Fear, Pt.2

16. If I Only Had A Brain

17. Silent Lord

Some the aural treasures found on disc 3 are among the rarest recorded curios in The Lips musical medicine chest including the previously unreleased demo track "Zero To A Million" which features The Lips short-lived line-up that included Jonathan Donahue on guitar (Mercury Rev) and Nathan Roberts on drums. This track was on the original cassette tape which led to The Lips Warner Bros. Records signing. Another early obscurity "Jets (Cupid's Kiss Vs. the Psyche of Death)" is one of the three tracks from The Lips first-ever WBR CD EP, Yeah, I Know It's A Drag...Wastin' Pigs Is Still Radical.

Various odds & sods included here that have never been available on CD until now include the epic, fan favorite "The Captain" which was left off The Soft Bulletin and a welcome addition to this set. "We Can't Predict The Future" is taken from a June 2000 John Peel BBC Session. "Your Face Can Tell The Future", and "You Gotta Hold On" are outtakes from At War With The Mystics sessions. Another rare gem, "Noodling Theme", is from the 2001 Lips soundtrack to director Bradley Beesley's indie-film "Okie Noodling" about bare-handed fishing in Oklahoma. Those lucky enough to attend early screenings were handed a copy of this now ultra-rare 3-song CD upon entry. "Spiderman Vs. Muhammed Ali", originally recorded for 2007's Music from and Inspired by Spider-Man 3 soundtrack has never released in any form. Prior to this collection, "Enthusiasm For Life Defeats Existential Fear, Pt. 2" existed on a USB drive -- along with two other tracks -- buried within the edible Gummy Fetus sold on tour in 2011. Closing out the collection is "Silent Lord" which is comprised of The Lips mash-up of "Silent Night" with Spacemen 3's "Lord, Can You Hear Me" from a Christmas 2008 limited edition 7" picture disc. The most comprehensive of any Lips compilation to date, Greatest Hits Vol.1 Deluxe Edition becomes an essential piece of the puzzle into the wonderful and strange world view of The Flaming Lips.

Image courtesy of Flaming Lips Official Facebook

Related Articles View More Music Stories

More Hot Stories For You

Before you go...

Like Us On Facebook
Follow Us On Twitter
Follow Us On Instagram instagram